Posted by: scrabblequeen | November 23, 2011

A Farewell To Anne

One of my favorite authors passed away yesterday. Anne McCaffrey’s Pern books came into my life sometime back in the 1970s. I can’t remember for sure if I was in Jr High or High School when I grabbed the first book off my dad’s table (he was done with it) and fell in love with Pern.
I think I have a copy of every Pern book, including those produced in collaberation with her son Todd. And, while Pern was definately my favorite of the world’s Anne created, I also enjoyed the Ship Who Sang series, the Tower and Hive series, Crystal Singer, and Powers That Be (PTB) series as well. Restoree, her first book, and a few odd non-sceince fictions novels of Ms. McCaffrey’s also passed muster with me, including the short No One Noticed The Cat and Black HOrses For The King.

Hm….in looking over her bibliography, it seems I didn’t miss much over the years….

I guess I won’t be able to look forward to any new stories from Anne, but perhaps Pern will continue with Todd at the helm. However, given the number of her books on my shelves, I don’t believe I can truly say I will miss her, as I can reach out for one of her books at any time quite easily. I will say that my world was made richer through the writings and imagination of Anne McCaffrey. For this, I am thankful.

Responses

  1. I didn’t know she had passed. For some reason I thought she’d go on forever. I like some of her work better than others of hers, but she did spin a good tale. May she rest in peace.

  2. Huh. I missed her death as well, but I’ve just scratched the surface of her work…

  3. Making it in a time when it was a real challenge for female authors to enter the world of SciFi, she created fun and interesting universes that held together. She wrote well, but for me the universe has been plumbed enough. Since Todd can’t write his way out of a paper bag – it is time for it to end.

  4. Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonflight was one of two books pressed into my young hands by the little white-haired librarian at my junior HS. (The other was Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising). “You might like these, dear,” she told me. How right she was! I can see flaws now that I didn’t at age 12, but those two books got me into the fascinating worlds of SF and fantasy- and I’ve never left.


Leave a Reply

Categories

