Posted by: scrabblequeen | November 1, 2011

Baking Up A Chocolate Storm

Hi there. Remember me?

Back in June, when we had our annual Church Picnic and Dessert Auction I cooked up two very different cakes for the auction. One was a lovely Lemon Creamcheese Pound Cake, which came with a jar of freshly made lemon curd, and the other was a Dark Chocolate cake with Nutella buttercream frosting. Both “sold” for very nice prices. After the auction was finished, I was approached by two different men with the same question, “if I put some money into the auction fund, will you bake me one of those cakes for later?” In short….answer is YES!

So…last week I baked up the Lemon Creamcheese Pound cake again…complete with lemon curd and raspberries for garnish. No biggie, one cake, all done.

This week, however…..I had the order for the Dark Chocolate cake to be ready yesterday. Hmm….I also need something for the Cake Walk at the Family Farm Festival (say that 3 times quickly)….so….
*
*

Cake number 1 for Auction fullfillment

*
*
Cake number one…Best Chocolate Cake as per recipe on Mybakingaddiction.com with only very minor adjustments, and Dark Chocolate frosting from the recipe on the Special Dark cocoa powder package. All dark, all the time for “Allison’s Husband”.
And…
*
*

Cake number 2 for Cake Walk

*
*
Cake number two was Dark Chocolate Cake recipe from Kingarthurflour.com again, with only minor adjustments. This cake featured a layer of Nutella between the layers, which I only made two of though the recipe allowed enough for three, and a Sour Cream Dark Chocolate frosting on top and sides.

So, what happened to the thrid layer you ask? Simple. It became this, or is that these?
*
*

*
*

Yummy dark cocolate cupcakes with an added bonus; they’re filled! I finally got a chance to use my new do-hickey that leaves a space for filling in my cupcakes. 🙂  The ones with a pumpkin on top are filled with Nutella. The ones with candy corn on top are filled with Blueberry fruit spread. Note the three different colors of chocolate frosting? Yes, well…obviously some got frosting number one, some got frosting number two, and then….I ran out of frosting! With only two cupcakes left to frost I didn’t want to make a full batch of anything, so I cheated. I melted some chocolate, added a little vanilla, then added powdered sugar to sweeten and thicken, and voila! And, without the coffee powder, it was lighter than number one, and without sour cream added it was darker than number two, so…heh…three.

I haven’t heard who won the cake at the Cake Walk, so no word on how that turned out, but I have it on good authority that the cupcakes were delish. Auction Man didn’t connect in time to get his cake yesterday, but I expect him to blow on over any time now to pick it up. Hope he doesn’t take too long, as it may not be here much longer if he delays. Just sayin….

Responses

  1. Chocolate is king at your house right now! Wonder if auction man will make it in time….

  2. Right now I am hungry and wondering what to cook for dinner. I don’t suppose chocolate cake is an appropriate dinner menu is it? Looks yummy!

  3. How about appropriate for breakfast? It’s 7 am and I’m already drooling. Thanks for that 😛 They all look fabulous and I’ll be looking up the recipie.

  4. Yum. Serious yum.

    We have a Scout fundraiser tonight, a spaghetti dinner (oh joy) and a dessert auction. A chocolate torte awaits. (When little kids dish up the spaghetti, last time it was slightly oranged noodles–you could tell they tried to get the sauce to them, but the pot was just too big or something.)

  5. Oh, I need to come to your house. I really need to come to your house and eat chocolate.
    Glad to know that there has been a serious reason for your quiet. Chocolate more than justifies anything!

  6. Well now I need a glass of cold milk……it all looks delish

  7. Ooh, they’re almost too pretty to eat! (But sound too delicious not to!)

  8. Now I’m going to have to walk upstairs and have a brownie. Thanks a lot. Of course, I’d probably have one even if I hadn’t read this. Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

