Posted by: scrabblequeen | July 28, 2011

Mid-Week Adventure

Wednesday morning, bright and early, I popped on over to Davis to catch the 7:55 train bound for Berkeley.

*

"historic"  Davis Amtrack station
*
After a one and a half hour knitting session I arrived in Emeryville to find Holly waiting for me at the station. Our first stop was intended to be Article Pract in Oakland, however, as we arrived before opening time, we were ‘forced’ to stroll down the street and find a convenient place to wait. We visited over coffee and tea, and, being well prepared knitters, waiting was not a problem. 🙂

Article Pract proved to be a very nice shop with a good selection of yarns to tempt us. Unfortunately for the proprietor, neither of us succumbed to that tempation. Not to worry, though, we each left a nearby thrift shop  with a little bag in our possession, so we were not empty-handed.

From Oakland we cruised back up to Berkeley to find the Lacis Museum of Lace and Textiles. I had never heard of this combination shop/museum before and was quite pleasantly surprised with what I found there. First, we worked our way through the shop, which had quite an array of lace and antinque clothing displayed in it, besides the plethora of sewing, knitting, beading, weaving supplies for sale. Holly found some costume patterns with her name on them, while I was besotted by the antique hankies and pairs of small scissors with many clever or beautiful designs making up the handles. Again, we did our bit for the local economy before alerting the ladies working there that we would like to see the current exhibit, Foundations; The Making of The Silhouette

I took (and will share) a few photos, but I strongly encourage anyone with more than a passing interest in historical textiles or fashion to click on the link and go view the whole slide show.
*

Chemise, worn next to the skin

*
*
Aren’t those beautiful? A whole lot of care and work went into each one of those items, none of which were meant to be seen while in use. Lace, embroidery, pintucks, and ribbon were in evidence on nearly every garment in the display. I was particularly taken with the Corset Covers….in the interest of space…click on a photo to ’embiggen’ it if you want to see more details.

*
*

*
*

*
*

*
*
It probably goes without saying that corset covers were used to….cover up the corset! I wouldn’t want to wear one of these 20 inch waist, bone-filled affairs, but I though the stiching and embellishments made for beautiful textiles.
*
*

*
*
Can you take one more photo of lingerie? I hope so, because this petticoat is really worth the time…don’t mind the antique wax dummy who also snuck into this shot…you can see more of her outfit online, if you go to that slide show.
*
*

*
*
If “Foundations” are not your thing, but textiles or knitting or lace is, you might want to plan a visit to Lacis between September 17th and February 4th when they will be featuring Knitted Lace of Estonia.

Holly and I completed our day together with a bit of late lunch at Cabucci’s, just opposite the train station. This is also where we took the obligatory photos of one another, for blogging purposes only. 🙂 

*

*

*

*

 I am so glad that I was able to spend the day with Holly. It was only our second time meeting “in real life” but I feel a true bond of friendship exists between us…after all, we have been chatting back and forth since June of 2007!

Responses

  1. Hooray!! Alison had just mentioned Article Pract (and Holly) to me yesterday and I was so very curious about the yarn shop with the really odd name…

    LOVE those corset covers. Wouldn’t want to suffer a corset to wear the pretty covers though!

  2. It was a great day! Thanks for doing a more extensive job with the photos. I just posted a few. One of these days, I will let someone get a “real photo….”

  3. The chemise pieces are just so femmi and beautiful. Looks like a fun museum to visit.

  4. Isn’t Holly wonderful! But I didn’t think to take a picture, I’m glad you did.

    Lacis is an incredible place. They publish lace books and run a knitting-book warehouse as well as the museum/shop you were in. The late Kaethe (pronounced Katy) Kliot, whose daughter runs it last I heard, made her way from Germany as a refugee post-WWII by knitting old doily patterns into tablecloths and selling them to American soldiers to save up for passage to America.

  5. What a wonderful day! I want to hear more about taking the train to the Bay Area…I’ve always wanted to do that.

  6. Hi, ruth, Hi, Holly,
    I bet Lacis was beyond wonderful! I’ve been so neglectful in chatting with the 2 of you. Too much going on here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

