Posted by: scrabblequeen | July 23, 2011

Lithia Park

So, where was I? Right….family reunion in Ashland, Oregon.

Saturday was the trip up to Crater Lake. Sunday was schedule to be a combination of things, starting off with another hike in a different wilderness area near Ashland. At dinner Saturday night, Cousin Paul (really my cousin’s son, but hey, we’re all cousins here) was trying to get a bead on who was going to get up and go on the hike Sunday morning. Guess what? Hardly any of the many tired folk were planning to attend….so…Plan B!

We have a great park in town with something for everyone, says Paul. Let’s meet at Lithia Park at 11:00 am, okay? Okay! In town, and not until eleven? Sign us up!

Paul was right. It was a lovely park and it really did have something for everyone. I sat for a while at the Lower Duck Pond with various family members and assorted mallards.
*
*

*
*
It was a pretty good-sized pond and I especially enjoyed the rock cascade on the side opposite where I was sitting.
*
*

*
*
While I was enjoying the lovely pond (and company) a doe strolled down the path and lay down in the grass! Right there, in the middle of a park full of people. Do you think that’s strange? ‘Cause I sure do!
There were a fair number of ducks at the pond, but only two babies. From the comments, I guess that was a pretty low number, however, all I cared about was how cute the little paddlers were. This one came rather close to my seat…
*
*

*
*
I had my knitting with me, of course, so when we passed the Poet sitting alongside the path with an “ask the poet” sign….I did…ask, that is….What you mean? Says he, give me a word and I will make a poem for you….any word at all. Okay, says I, Knitting! And away he went, spinning a lovely rhymey poem about the yarn, the needles, the knitters, the onject d’art, and so on of the Craft. He was really quite good. When he had completed his tale we complimented him and gave into his poor, empty basket a bit of the coin of the realm….then I did offer him one teensy-weensy little correction. Knitting, says I, is on the up-swing these days, not a die-ing art for oldsters. Oh, says he….
*
*

*
*
We spent a good while at the park that day. Sitting in the picnic area, or by the pond, or walking or hiking or playing frisbee, or….whatever! I would definatley like to go again and see more. However, before I leave off this visit, I’d like to show you the “little creek” than ran along the side of the park.
*
*

Ashland Creek

*
*
Can you believe how fast it was running?! I was not surprised to see warning signs posted along the creek, but I WAS suprised to see folks allowing their children to go into the creek! It was fast, and cold, (snow melt) and deeper than usual, and the little ones didn’t have flotation devices of any kind. Hmmmm……

To wrap things up, I’ll share the photo of I took of Hubby Dearest posing on the bridge over the creek. A little ‘eye candy’ never hurt anyone. 🙂
*
*

Responses

  1. What a fun adventure – especially the poet. Neat!!

  2. Looks like a cool refreshing park. Leave it to Ashland to have a “Ask a Poet” sitting on a park bench…fabulous!

  3. Beautiful, beautiful! And I want to see that poet and me in a pun-upmanship contest.

  4. What a pretty park! Aren’t you glad for plan ‘B’? I really liked the resident poet! I would probably have tried to stump him with words that are very hard to rhyme. You have to be confident in your skills to carry a sign around like that…or kooky! What fun!

  5. Oh, how lovely! Marvelous pictures. I especially like the first one and the one of the stream.

    And your comment about children playing reminds me of an incident in a town where I lived some years ago- children on a hot day, dangling their feet in the stream. The current pulled one off the bank- he couldn’t get a grip on the grass and he slipped in. Not a story with a happy ending, I’m afraid. Fast-moving water should be treated with respect- it can be so much stronger than people realize.


Leave a Reply

Categories

