Posted by: scrabblequeen | June 1, 2011

The Woman In White

One of my best decisions in 2010 was to join the Frankensocks group on Ravelry. Here’s a bit of the blurb on the group page to explain what this is all about.

“Welcome to Frankensocks! We’re currently on the path of four knit-alongs a year. We read a gothic horror novel along the vein of Frankenstein or Dracula and each pick something to knit that fits the book at hand.”

Obviously, we started with Frankenstein….and the projects were our Frankensocks. I showed you mine last October.

Since that time we’ve also tackled Dicken’s A Christmas Carol and Brahm Stoker’s Dracula. Most recently, Wilkie Collins’ The Woman In White is on the schedule. Heh…for once, I’m ahead of schedule!

I’d never actually heard of this book before the group decided to add it to our reading schedule, so I had to go do a little digging around for background information. As it happens, The Woman In White is considered one of the first ever mystery novels and an early example of detective fiction. Who knew?

I bought the optimized for Kindle version and got busy reading back in April. The projects for this RAL/KAL were to be “anything white” or nearly white, or close enough! I counted the silvery grey Summerflies shawl as my project for this book. I HAD to start it a tad early, as getting it done by a certain date was part of the point of knitting it…

Anyway….back to the book. I tried to stick to the reading schedule as posted on the Group at first…but I got sucked into the story and HAD to read ahead. I couldn’t help myself…I finished it back around the end of April. Loved it. Wanted others to read it so we could talk about it. Oh yes…I had it bad.

When I found out that a film version had been made, of course I wanted to see that, too.  This isn’t the only film version made, by the way. It’s just the only one that Netflix carries. 🙂

I watched the DVD with my family Sunday night. They had not read the book and were very patient with my comments of how this or that had “never happened” in the book. We all thought it was “okay” at best. The film, being only two hours long, could not begin to do justice to the story, which is over 500 pages long. I understand that a film cannot include everything that the book does, but I don’t understand why they have to make major changes to the story line!

So, my recommendations are: Read the book and skip the film, or view the film first and then read the book. Then, stop back here to tell me what you thought of it all….please.

Responses

  1. Clearly I need to reread this one. I know I read it, but it was so long ago, that I don’t remember much.
    Kindle, here I come.

  2. Loved the book. Read it in a matter of hours ages ago. Haven’t seen the movie, and must say… don’t think I will.

  3. Oooooh, and I just happen to be looking for books! Is this something someone could read while, say, on pain meds recovering from surgery, or is it a tougher read than that?

  4. I’m listening to it via Craftlit – or trying to! I have attempted several times to listen, but I keep getting interrupted! 😦 I’ll let you know when I’m all done!

  5. Obviously I am defective. Everyone, absolutely everyone, loves The Woman in White and I just couldn’t get into it. I tried the DT version and gave up. I got the audio book about a year ago and did make it through that one, but it was a struggle. Maybe I should try something else from Collins to see if it’s his style I don’t like.

    A Christmas Carol, on the other hand, is one of my all time favs, if not the all time fav. Love it. I’m going to have to go take a look at the socks for that one.

  6. The woman in white is what my shawl recipient is about to be–when I finish it…


Leave a Reply

Categories

