Posted by: scrabblequeen | May 23, 2011

Wall Art

I really wanted to post for this week’s Round Robin Photo Challenge…but I ran into a little snag. The theme was Graffiti…and I drove all over town looking for something worth taking a photo of, with no real success. The only graffiti I could find was on the side of train cars. There was no where to park that allowed me access to the trains for photos (safely), so I had to take a pass on this challenge. Phooey. However, while I was out and about I did find some very interesting Wall Art.

To me, Wall Art is different from Graffiti. It is either purposely painted by the owner of the building, or by someone they have hired, or at the least allowed, to paint the wall. We have several great examples of this downtown on Main Street. Hopefully I’ll get some photos of those….someday!

For today, here are some of the sections I found painted along the long side of a business way out in our “industrial” area…which strangely is also home to a “low income” housing development.
Most were ‘shorter’ rectangles like these…
*
*

*
*

*
*

*
*
However, off at one end of the wall there were two much larger, taller paintings…
*
*

*
*
This one was clearly also being used as a shrine….
*
*

Responses

  1. Well you really found some great wall art! Much preferred to graffiti!

  2. Lovely!! In our town, you have to have a permit to paint such.


Leave a Reply

Categories

