Posted by: scrabblequeen | May 20, 2011

A True Friend…

a long-time favorite stamp/saying


*
*
I have been fortunate (blessed even) in my life to have had a number of true friends.
One of these, Bonnie, recently went on an amazing Art Tour in Italy. Naturally, as soon as she was home (and awake) I wanted to meet up with her to talk about her trip and hopefully to view some photos as well. Wednesday we met here over some freshly baked scones and tea to share what’s been going on in our lives since we were last together. I’m sorry to say she didn’t have any photos….yet!
However…she did have a few gifts for me. Yippeee! Gifts are nice….especially thoughtful gifts that mean someone was thinking of you….BUT…they aren’t the thing that defines a true friend. That being said….wanna see them?
*
*

Pen commemorating the "Royal" Wedding


*
*
It worked out that their first day over seas was spent in England. London, to be exact. Guess what else was going on in London that day? Oh yes. Mind you, the tour had been booked long before the Royal Wedding was announced for that day…it wasn’t a good thing for Bonnie. Most places were closed due to the ‘holiday’…When you have only one day in a place, it’s best if it isn’t a ‘bank’ holiday….Just sayin’.
*
*

*
*
Bonnie also brought me this bottle of Italian chocolates! Yum…..
*
*

Dark chocolate Pralines...what's not to love?


*
*
That would have been plenty to show me that my friend was thinking of me, even as she traveled through Italy and viewed some of the world’s most beautiful (and famous) art….but that isn’t all….This last piece is over-the-top…and my favorite by far!
*
*

Olive green and copper!!


*
*
Isn’t this a beautiful scarf? It has so much going for it that I hardly know where to start in extolling it’s virtues. Lovely shade of green (you know I love green) and the metallic threads…copper, and bronze, and even a bit of gold. The labels says it’s 50% Viscose (bamboo) and 50% Seta….which my searches are saying means silk. So wow…I am so blessed. Not only do we share a special friendship, bound together by 20+ yrs of good and bad, happy and sad, we also share a love of beauty. So glad she was thinking of me when she saw this scarf. Even happier that Bonnie got to GO to see all that wonderful art and history AND that she returned safely to all of us here.
Welcome home, Miss Bonita. I missed you!

Responses

  1. Whoa. I am GREEN with ENVY! That scarf is STUNNING.

  2. It’s even prettier in reality! You are blessed in the friend area Ruth!

  3. The scarf is beautiful. I’m glad you could get together and enjoy travel revues over tea and scones!

  4. what wonderful gifts, from one green lover to another!!!!

  5. You HAD me at PEN. I am a pen nut!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

