Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 21, 2011

I’ll Have A Cold One

EMPS #116: COLD BEVERAGES

Do you have a favorite COLD BEVERAGE? I sure do, my very favorite COLD BEVERAGE is Coka-COLA Classic! I don’t drink it as often as I would like, because I am a type 2 diabetic, but that’s ok, Diet Cherry Coka-Cola comes in as a close second! How about you? This week, grab your favorite COLD BEVERAGE, whatever it might be, and photograph it. Iced tea, milk, Iced coffee, Lemonade, vodka on the rocks, it’s all good!
*
Any of you who have been hanging around here for any length of time already know what my favorite beverage is…..right? Tea! Bring it on….hot or iced, but hold the sugar, please. πŸ™‚
*
*

*
*
Yup. Iced tea is the drink for me…cold drink, that is. Nearly every morning I make a pot of tea. Yes, that does include the summer months. Each day, the tea that isn’t consumed hot is poured into the blue pitcher pictured above, placed in the fridge, and like magic, becomes iced tea for dinners.

Would an embarassing story linked to this habit be of interest to you? Yeah, I thought so!

A couple of weeks ago I attended a potluck dinner. I decided to bring my pitcher of iced tea along to share. I never expected anyone to think twice about the tea….boy was I wrong. People started saying how great the tea was, and asking what kind it was, and what was my secret. Oh dear. I tried to play it cool and say something like, “secret family recipe”. They kept after me…relentlessly asking for my secret. Sigh…It really was rather embarassing to have to tell them in the end that it was a collection of a week’s worth of left-overs….now my secret is really out!

Responses

  1. LOL I heard about your wonderful tea!! πŸ˜‰

    But YOU don’t drink Coke right? And, YOU aren’t a type II diabetic? Is that someone else’s intro?

    If I had drunk my tea before reading this post, would I still be confused? πŸ˜‰

    • Right, Amy…the intro came from someone else. The lady who runs the EMPS, in fact. Go have your tea! It WILL help. πŸ™‚

  2. Heh! That’s funny. See?! Leftovers are wonderful!

  3. Sounds like a great plan for left over tea. Too funny.

  4. It’s true. Her leftover tea makes the best iced tea ever. The combination of flavors is unable to be reproduced and packaged for supermarket sales. Guess you’ll just have to go over and try it πŸ™‚

    • LOL…thanks for the endorsement….son!

  5. I love it! That’s genius!

  6. My current favorite cold drink is a smoothie. I use about 1/2 cup of milk or coconut milk, 1 container of nonfat flavored yogurt, a cut-up banana, and all sorts of other fruits. Everything goes in the blender, and then I have this wonderful low-calorie drink.

  7. Hmm. I don’t know if I have a favorite cold beverage. I feel that different beverages go with different situations. For example- pub food goes well with hard cider. Freshly baked chocolate chip cookies go well with a nice cold glass of milk. On a hot summer day, lovely tart lemonade with lots of ice is just the thing. At the Lowell Folk Festival, there’s a great little coffeeshop- but since the festival is in July and it’s nearly always sweltering, I have a semi-tradition of getting an iced caramel latte there. Pizza demands soda, usually cola.

  8. Hi Ruth πŸ™‚

    There really isn’t anything better then iced-tea on a hot summer day! My favorite is TAZO Passion tea with lemon. AAHHHHH… refreshing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

