Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 2, 2011

Out With The Old….

Keltcraft by Noritake....Kilkee pattern


*
*
I got these dishes as a wedding gift from my father, nearly 28 years ago. I so loved the color and pattern
*
*

*
*
And in with the new….
*
*

Plain Winter White Correlle

*
*
It has taken me three years to decide to go this direction. I really needed my new dishes to be much lighter than the old one. It is just too hard to get them into and out of the rather high cupboard where they have lived for the last 20 yrs. I wanted light and pretty….I settled for light. Guess I can make up for the all white with the rest of the table settings?
*
But, some things stay the same…..
*
*

My morning cuppa!!


*
*
Any thought about what I should do with my (still loved) old dishes?

Responses

  1. maybe you can install some shelves from ikea and display them. i love older dishes because they have character and history, especially if they still look nice.

  2. Hem. My plain white stoneware is in the attic still. I need to give it to GoodWill or something. I hung onto it because mine was also in part gifted from assorted relations, but now that it’s been in the attic for a decade or so, it’s time to let go.

  3. I’ve really enjoyed my all white dishes…

  4. Well, I have a thing about dishes. I have about 7 full patterns and a lot of mismatched stuff floating around in boxes, cupboards, hutches; just anywhere I can stash them. So I’d never get rid of that pretty old set if I were you. They were from your DAD for heaven’s sake. Save them for grandchildren or great grandchildren, nieces, nephews; anyone in the family who loves vintage stuff. As for the white; great choice. I like mixing my patterns with a white set I have. So I’ll put out a white plate with a Blue Willow salad plate and blue goblets; or my poinsettia plates with the white salad plates. Or alternate a white setting with a patterned setting; the possibilities are endless…

  5. I got told to go to Corelle when my lupus started and my inflammation was severe in my hands. Years later, I have two sets in my cupboard: that Corelle and a set of stoneware that I love, handthrown by my friends Mel and Kris. Which I use depends on mood and inflammation, but I like having access to both.

  6. When we finally agreed, after 14 years, on a china pattern, we gave our old wedding gift china to a women’s shelter. There were women who were trying to start over with nothing and they could put them to good use.


Leave a Reply

Categories

