Posted by: scrabblequeen | February 11, 2011

Finished!

It’s Friday once again, so that means I should be talking about knitting, right? Right. And I am. Really.

First, and by far the most exciting new is…..I finished my green “Sweater Class” cardigan!!! Well, I actually finished it before the end of January, but didn’t want to post until I had photos, and for some reason, I know not why, I just wasn’t getting those pics taken.

So, here are the specs: Top-down, raglan sleeve cardi, knit without a pattern, but with help from our wonderful teacher Becka, for the gauge maths, etc. Bodice is plain stockinette, bottom and sleeve trim are Outlined Diamonds, which I found somewhere in one of my many knitting books…hmmmm…which one?
Yarn: Misti Alpaca Pima Cotton and Silk (last year’s STitches purchase) in Lime
Needles: size 5 and 6 KnitPicks Options
Started August 2010, completed Jan. 2011 Which sound like a long time, but really, it just sat there nearly done from late October until I picked it up again in January.
*
*

*
*

*
*

*
*

The Cardi is totally seamless, which makes sense if you know how much I hate seaming knitting. 🙂

Button band, sleeve edges and bottom edge are garter stitch, while the collar is ribbed. Because the cotton/silk is rather soft (read limp) I felt it wise to re-inforce the neck, which I did by picking up stitches all along the edge of the ribbing, then binding them off. Worked like a charm and really helped with getting a good fit, too. Thanks, Becka, for the great technique that made that idea work.

More recently, I also designed and knitted a Chemo Cloche

*

*

*

*

A pair of washcloths, already gifted to a friend…one in brioche stitch, the other is Quilted Wash Cloth
*

*

*

*

Add in a short scarf, or neck warmer for my Airman, freezing away in the far north of Texas…

*

*

*

*

And, finally, a cowl by request, for a friend. She picked out the yarn and I winged it from there, knowing only that she wanted it long enough to pull up over her face (not the eyes!) while on the back of the bike. (read Harley)

*

*

*

*

 There! So what have I been doing since I finished the cowl? Oh, not much…but I finished another washcloth tonight…:-)

Responses

  1. Wow! You have been busy. Everything is so pretty, especially the cardi!

  2. I really like the color of the cardi and those cloths. Very pretty. Beautiful job!

  3. Wonderful FOs! I’m glad someone is knitting. The cardi REALLY is stunning.

  4. I saw your comment on my new blog!! How fun that you came to say hi!! If you want to PM me on Ravelry – under my same name Curlyredheadgirl – and let me know how I can get some of this yarn to you I’d love to contribute!!! That would bring me so much joy to know that it’s going someplace really needed! Thanks again for stopping by – and yes, I do remember you!!

  5. I’m always amazed at how much you get done…you must knit in your sleep!

  6. Love that cardi – it turned out amazing! Great job on the designing. Love all the knitting. g


Leave a Reply

Categories

