Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 15, 2011

Remember The Alamo

Round Robin Photo Challenge
For Saturday, January 15th, the theme is:

Show us a photo you always wanted to take. Open theme, have fun.

If you’ve been hanging around here for a while you might have noticed I/we are history buffs. Where ever we travel we make sure to visit the local historical sites, if it is at all in our power to do so. For example; in Viginia? Go to Monticello! In Washington DC? Go to Smithsonian, memorials, etc. In England, Ireland, Wales, or Scotland? Woot! Castles and farms and places of note galore. We. are. so. there.

So, naturally, when in San Antonio….we ‘remembered’ to go to The Alamo. It’s one thing to hear about, read about, and see others’ photos and quite another thing to be there one’self. Also naturally, I brought my camera along for the trip. 🙂

First up, a night shot.

*

*

*

*

Why a night shot? Because it looks cool and because too many people are there in the day to get a photo without people in it! I took some anyway….

*

*

*

*

What exactly IS The Alamo? Follow this link if you want to know all about it. Otherwise, the short version. The Alamo started it’s life as a Spanish Mission. (1718-1793) When the Spanish gave it up as a mission, it was used for various other things, including as a fort, by first the Spanish, then Mexicans, then Texans. (yes, Texas was a country for 9 yrs)It is most famous for The Battle of The Alamo, which took place in 1836.

In addition to the iconic “humped” building above, the Alamo has several other small buildings and the interior of the walled compund which one can explore. Inside the gates, to the left of the Chapel (the iconic building) stands a very old, very large Live Oak Tree.

*

*

*

*

To the left of that are the remains of the “long barracks”, now used as a museum.

*

*


*
*
We wandered through the entire complex, of course, and took a number of other photos…but I will leave you with just one more for now. A view of the statue across the plaza from the Alamo which is a memorial to the “heroes” of the battle of 1836. Who remembers some of the more famous men who died there?
*
*

*

*

 For more views of “I’ve always wanted to photograph” go visit the other Robins pages! You won’t be sorry you did.

Responses

  1. Oh wow, the Alamo! I’d love to go there. We love the history of things too. I am getting ready to go to Alcatraz at the end of this month. I can’t wait. Can you imagine the photo ops there?

    Visiting via Round Robin Photo Challenges.

  2. Great photos – the Alamo is amazing. Funny – we did the same things when seeing our “airmen” graduate. I wonder where my photos are? They are actual photos. g

  3. Beautiful photos. You know I love history too!!

  4. My grandparents went to the Alamo when I was about seven years old. They brought me back a souvenir coin stamped with the Alamo and my name. I still carry it in my purse everywhere I go. It’s the only ‘good luck’ piece I’ve ever carried.


Leave a Reply

Categories

