Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 5, 2011

Fukubukuro

No, I’m not cursing, and you don’t need to say ‘gesundheit’! either…. Fukubukuro….are a wonderful Japanese tradition for the New Year. I got mine from Lupicia Tea. I first heard about these awesome “Happy Bags” last year, but was unable to get one and find out first hand how wonderful they are. This year, I knew about the bags in advance and made sure I was in a position to score one for my very own.

My package arrived today. Inside the big box, I found this:
*
*

*
*
As promised, it was a very happy bag! Inside the bag, I found all of this:
*
*

*
*
OOOoooo, four nice pouches of tasty black tea, and two more boxes. What is hiding inside the little boxes?
*
*

*
*
Okay, that’s interesting, but really, what is it?
*
*

*
*
Oh, I see…. a heat-proof glass and ball tea strainer. Interesting…. But what about the other box?
*
*

*
*
This one looks like lots of little bags of tea. I know only that they are all black teas, as that is kind of bag I ordered, but the rest is a mystery still.
*
*

*
*
What a lovely variety! Eleven pouches of tea. Only one is clearly a gift for some lucky person, due to it’s being labeled “Earl Grey”. The rest sound good to me, so I cannot be sure how much sharing will occur. This WAS a Happy Bag, indeed! I wonder what other lovely surprises this new year will bring?

Responses

  1. What a treat! I love tea, especially black tea with sugar and milk. Mmmm.

  2. What a nice treat for the new year!

  3. That really was a full bag of treats! :o)

  4. Wow! That’s an impressive happy tea box.

  5. Happy Tea indeed! I love Earl Grey – apparently you don’t? g

  6. What a nice tradition! Are there other types of gifts in bags, or is it traditionally tea?

  7. I guess you’ll be drinking a lot of tea this winter. Nice little packages.

  8. i love your HAPPY BAG, what a wonderful tradition I am off to make tea!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

