Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 1, 2011

Something New

Round Robin Photo Challenge!

This photo’s theme is “New”, whether it’s Happy New Year, welcome new baby, all that’s old is new again, etc. etc. you get the idea.

What will be new in your life as the new year begins? Is there a new phone or iPad, a new puppy, perhaps a newly remodeled bathroom?  Maybe it’s as simple as newly fallen snow. Whatever it is, take your photos of your icon of newness, and prepare to post them on New Year’s Day!
*
With it being right after Christmas, I had my choice of “newness” to share.
First,  New knitting books! Santa (a ka Hubby Dearest used my Amazone list!!)
*
*

 

*
*

 

Daniel got both new glasses and a new Air Force shirt from our soon-to-be Airman!

*

*
>
*
*
I got two new teapot ornaments for my “chick tree”
*
*

*
*
Oh, you want to know what a “chick tree” is? Okay…my chick tree is a small, artificial tree I put all my ‘girly’ ornaments on each Christmas. Because I have lived in a household of males for the last 27+ years, my Christmas tree wasn’t really the right place for the sweet (delicate and fragile) tea pot ornaments (and a few others) that my friends were gifting me. It is really getting rather full, as my friend Pam, in particular, gives me at least one new teapot or cup and saucer each year. This year she gave me the pretty Cloisone pot. I gave myself the crystal one. 🙂 Would you like to see this years incarnation?
*
*

*

Don’t forget to go see the other Robin’s newness, too!

Responses

  1. I love your little ornaments! Girls need girly things!

  2. Lots of fun newness! Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. Cute tree! I do like the themed ornaments. I collected ornaments every time I traveled somewhere. I like the themes on trees!

  4. I love your “chick tree.” What an amazing tradition! The cloisonne mini-teapot is especially cool. Happy new Year!

  5. love your tree, mine is a small tree with lots of knitted items, especially little socks that friends have sent me!!!!

    Happy new Year Ruth!

  6. I love those cute little teaset! My son too got a new glasses for the new year but he refused to be photographed!

  7. What fun new things you received! I guess there will be lots of knitting going on around your house!

  8. LOVE your chick tree, but Gretchen was QUICK to point out that you have Sasha and Misty to help balance the score…

  9. What a fabulous idea! I wish I would have thought of that. Where do you put it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

