Posted by: scrabblequeen | December 22, 2010

Scrabble Tea at Linde Lane

Friday last saw four of the intrepid “Scrabble Girls” off to our annual Christmas Tea.

Numbers were reduced this year due to 1). Steph’s new job and 2). Bonnie’s visit to family back East. We missed the others, but carried on (as only we can do) as best we could without them.

Linde Lane was decked out in wonderful Christmas finery throughout the shop. I tried to take photos, but sadly, did a terrible job and won’t post the bad ones. You can all thank me later. 🙂

The four of us sat down in a nearly-full house and were greeted with new menus, again!! I’m very pleased with the addition of two new pies, Chicken Pot and Shepherd’s….yum! Being un-accountably of similar minds, we all ordered the Duchess Tea this time, with it’s satisfying assortment of scone, sandwiches, and desserts. Donna and I both had the Queen’s China Oolong, Bev had something with Pecan, and I really have no idea what Pam drank…how did that happen?
*
*

Pam

*
*

Bev

*
*

Donna

*
*
A wonderful thing happened after we had all eaten and shared our Christmas gifts with one another;we PLAYED SCRABBLE!!
*
*

A real, live Scrabble game!

*
*
When I had finished beating the others (HEH, had to sneak that in somehow) we went into the Parlour, still my favorite room at Linde Lane, for a group photo. True confesssions here….my picture isn’t great. It may not even be good. However, as it is the only one I have at present, I am going to post it. (Those of you with better pics can send a copy to me and I promise to replace the poor one with YOURS!)

*

*

Foursome

*

*

Because this picture is off in one corner,and you can’t see the whole room,  I really, really want to show you all how cute the Parlour is in it’s Christmas configuration. So, now…tada….the empty room shot!

*

*

*

*

I think we’ve done this for at least a dozen years…..I wonder if we can make it last another dozen?

Responses

  1. Oh, cool! And I love that you all topped it off with Scrabble. Perfect.

  2. I lost our Thanksgiving game, but redeemed myself last weekend. We’ll see what happens on Christmas. Your surroundings look comfortable and cozy and a wonderful place for a game.

  3. A wonderful tradtion! I’m glad you fit in a Scrabble game and you are still the Queen! LOL!

  4. How nice! loved that you got to play Scrabble! And, personally, I think the pic of the 4 of you is great!!

  5. Just a note to say Happy New Year! Thanks for a year of sharing, fun, and inspiration.

  6. We will surely continue the tea tradition, Ruth…and hopefully get a game of Scrabble in now and then. Thanks for all of the above…great fun, even if I am blurred a bit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

