Posted by: scrabblequeen | December 10, 2010

FO Friday

Things have been piling up around for a while. I don’t know why it’s been so hard to get photos and post, but oh well. I’ll try to catch up now. If you’re not here for the knitting, you’ll want to bail now. I have lots to catch up on!

Okay….in my last knitting related post, I mentioned some mitts I was making for my friend Gina. They got done, and gifted, but as so often happens when there is no brain involved, I forgot to take a photo. Sigh. However, I do have a shot of the hat I knit to ‘go with’ those mitts. Not match, just go with. Same yarn, Moda Dea Cartwheel, but not a Fetching hat. I made this one up myself.
*
*

*
*
I had to wait a while between the mitts and the hat because I ran out of yarn….and it is a discontinued yarn, and I found someone on Ravelry who had some, but it took a while to get here. So, in the meantime, I knit another hat in the same pattern. I called it “Pink Pinwheels” since that’s what the swirly thing reminds me of.
*
*

*
*
Knit with Vanna’s Choice Baby in Poodle PInk (free yarn, don’t judge!) on size 8 circs. I used a rotating purls pattern to achieve the swirly effect. Might do decreases differently another time. Hmmm…

Then, I knit another little pink hat, with Berroco Comfort, using the Button Tab pattern.
*
*

*
*
I’ll be honest here. I was trying for a kid-sized hat. I think it’s more teen/adult sized. Oh well….
*
*
Still on a hat/mitt roll, I immediately cast on for another little set. I pulled some Lion Brand Wool Ease out of the deep, dark depths of the stash, and after a rather frustrating pattern search for kid sized mittens, produced this set. Little Red Riding Hat and mitts.
*
*

*
*
Ah…and now for something a little different. A pair of socks, by golly! Warm and Toasty for your toes. These are knit from Baby Alpaca Grande. They’re very warm and weigh a ton. For a secret recipient who lives where it gets quite chilly.
*
*

*
*
Then, I needed a break from kntting in the round, so I pulled out some Red and Green Wool-Ease and some nice Harmony straight needles and cast on for a Yarn Harlot’s One Row scarf….I cleverly call it, “Hey! It’s a Christmas Scarf”. Do I get extra points for creativity? It has red stripes at both ends and in the middle. But since I’m hiding the as yet unwoven in ends, you can’t really tell all that from the photo.
*

*
*
*
Getting back to our regularly scheduled hats and mitts, next up was a Beret for Tara. I knit the original version of this, to match a scarf, back in summer of ’08. For various reasons I didn’t gift it to Tara until her birthday, last March. She didn’t like the fit of the hat, a bit too loose, so I had volunteered to “fix” it for her. In the long run, I opted to just knit her a whole new hat, with a new pattern. We both like it much better!
*
*

*
*
Isn’t she cute? I love the way the yarn patterned out on the hat….
*
*

*
*
Knit in Bravo Carzy Color, by Schachenmayr nomotta on size 3’s and 5’s. I received this yarn quite a while back, either as a prize or a swap gift. I’m sorry I just can’t grab all the details any more. I love it, though!

Hang, on. Almost done catching up!
having finished Tara’s hat, I had to hurry up and get started on Miss Sammy’s hat. Sam is Tara’s sister, and as I type these very words she is graduating from nursing school. Tomorrow, at the grad party I plan to gift her with the hat and a lovely blue Pashmina. I had neither the time nor the yarn handy to actually knit her a matching scarf. I DO, however, have enough for some mitts, so she’ll likely get those for Christmas.

I wanted another slouchy or beret or tam style hat, so I went searching through Ravelry until I came to this: The Orvieto Hat seemed like just the right fit for Sam. I hope she likes it!
*
*

*
*

*
*
I made this with super soft Mmmmalabrigo worsted, in the Indigo colorway. I want one for myself!

And last, yes, I’m finally done, one more pair of of mitts. Charliene, my friend in Memphis, sent me a link with a picture of some fingerless mittens a few weeks along with a reuqest for a pair….after teasing her a bit about knitting them herself, I DID promise a pair of mitts,….just not necessarily the ones pictured!
*
*

*
*
Cascade Heritage Hand Paints yarn, some silly number or other. I held the yarn doubled throughout and made the pattern up as I went along. I put in a twisted stitch pattern on the backs of the hand soley so there would be a right and left mitten!

Well, ten projects since the beginning of November isn’t so bad! Sometimes I feel like I just don’t get anything done. Maybe it isn’t as bad as it seems?

Responses

  1. Wow, are you ever productive! Those are the cutest hats!

  2. You have been busy! Love the self-patterned yarn and the way it played out. I’m way behind on blogging too, but only have one FO to show for it…

  3. Lovely finished projects! I love the sock yarn hat and the malibrigo mitts. But the bulky socks are fun – I have a pair to get done for under the tree. g

  4. Wow, you’ve been a busy girl. Isn’t it a nice feeling to actually finish an item. I love it. I especially liked that pink swirly hat, but then it’s done in my favorite color.
    Sue

  5. I’m so impressed! Don’t your hands get sore? My favorite is the woolease set with the hat and mittens.

  6. I wish I had made 10 things since the beginning of November, or even the beginning of October. Give yourself a big congratulatory hug!

  7. you are putting me to shame!

    Those are lovely lovely things.

  8. Wow. So much so pretty and so done already!

  9. I love looking at all of the projects, the socks really caught my eye, but maybe it is cause my feet are chilly at the moment!!! all the hats mitts and scarf are gorgeous too!!!!! Gosh I love knitting!!!!!

  10. Gorgeous! Clearly you’ve been having a ton of fun. (And free yarn? Totally with you…there’s absolutely nothing bad about free yarn.)

    And I think the ‘feeling like you get nothing done’ is because you spend all your time thinking about things you’re working on. Once it’s done, you don’t think about it any more, and move on to the next thing..which isn’t done. The next time you have one of this thoughts, look back at this post and remember all your lovely FOs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

