Posted by: scrabblequeen | November 11, 2010

Thankful Thursday, Indeed!

Today is a special Thursday, and we have much to be thankful for. Today, we honor all those veteran’s who have served the U.S.A. at any time, and those who are currently serving deserve our thanks, too.

Tuesday I had the privilege of attending my son Jeremy’s swearing in to the United States Air Force.
*
*

*
*
Jeremy is in the black t-shirt and jeans. Shortly after that ceremony, he and the others signed their contracts, said their good-byes, and flew off to San Antonio, Texas, on their way to Lackland AFB for Basic Training. It will be nine long weeks before we see him again. In that time, he’ll go from being a nice young man, to being something a bit….more. I’m very happy for him, and proud of him, too.

My son is not the first in my family to serve this country. My father and his brother both served during World War II. Dad was a Navy CB in the Pacific; I don’t know where my uncle served. We were very lucky. They both came home again after the war.

My brother Jim also served. He was a Marine, in the 1960’s, and was sent to Vietnam. He never speaks of it, but I know from talking to his wife, that it affected (s) him deeply.Recently, I found an old photo of him as a young marine . (circa 1963)
*
*

*
*
I am honored to know a number of folks who are currently serving our country in the armed forces. I’m going to take a minute to thank each one of them, right here, right now.

Dr. Holly Doyne, Army. Stationed  in Afghanistan. I don’t know her rank, but it’s fairly high, as she has been in service a long time. (20+ yrs)

Camerron Wettern, Army. Stationed in Great Britain

Jared Bunch, Army. Stationed  in US

Luke Utterback, Air Force. Stationed in US

Zachary Kolb, Marines.  Stationed ?? Not sure, at the moment

Joshua Nofer, Marines.  Stationed San Diego, CA

And my son, Jeremy. Basic Training. Lackland AFB, TX.

I’m sure I can list a few others, too. Son’s of friends of mine, or friends of friends. We all know someone, I’d bet.

Here are a few thoughts on soldiers to ponder today:

Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
–Ronald Reagan–

Be convinced that to be happy means to be free and that to be free means to be brave. Therefore do not take lightly the perils of war.
–Thucydides–

 People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.
–George Orwell–

We make war that we may live in peace.
–Aristotle–

The Noble and the Brave:
A Veteran’s Day Tribute

 

When America had an urgent need,
These brave ones raised a hand;
No hesitation held them back;
They were proud to take a stand. 

They left their friends and family;
They gave up normal life;
To serve their country and their God,
They plowed into the strife. 

They fought for freedom and for peace
On strange and foreign shores;
Some lost new friends; some lost their lives
In long and brutal wars. 

Other veterans answered a call
To support the ones who fought;
Their country had requirements for
The essential skills they brought. 

We salute every one of them,
The noble and the brave,
The ones still with us here today,
And those who rest in a grave. 

So here’s to our country’s heroes;
They’re a cut above the rest;
Let’s give the honor that is due
To our country’s very best. 

By Joanna Fuchs

http://www.poemsource.com/index.html

Responses

  1. Great post. Thanks you to (for raising a young man proud to serve) and especially to those in your life who have or are serving to keep us all free!

  2. Congratulations to you and your son! What a wonderful Veterans Day tribute!!

  3. What a great post! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. Your post brought tears to my eyes. God Bless and Protect your son! Two of my brothers proudly wore the Air Force uniform. One went to Vietnam not once or twice, but three times. They have both gone to heaven now; but they live in my heart; and especially today.

  5. Thank you, Ruth. And a hug and a huge thank you to your Jeremy.

  6. What a wonderful tribute. I wish all the best for you and your son – especially for a safe and healthy stint in the Air Force.

    I also wanted to stop by and say…Hi, I’m your reusable grocery bag exchange partner.

    Nice to “meet” you =)

    Sandie lee

  7. You’re a brave mother, and your son is a brave man. My best to you and yours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

