Posted by: scrabblequeen | October 29, 2010

Scatter-Brained?

Maybe that’s why I haven’t had the ability to blog worth a darn for some time? My brain is scattered in a million different directions all the time lately. However, I have been knitting, and reading, and reading blogs, even giving an occaisional comment. So….Knitting what, you ask?

Well, I confess, first, that my beautiful green sweater is languishing a mere 3-4 inches from completion. I haven’t worked on it for several weeks now, in favor of more pressing projects…..like:

My niece Amanda’s new scarf and mitts!

*
*

*
*
The scarf and mitts are knit with Malabrigo worsted, in the amazing Saphire Magenta colorway. I used a simple Brioched stitch for the scarf, which IS finished, even though I never took a photo to prove it.

The mitts are Malabrigo Hand Thingies (I love that name)
*
*

*
*
I also completed, save for the horrendous amount of weaving in ends, a pair of socks for my Ravelry Frankensocks group RAL/KAL. I’m a little behind in the reading, though, seeing as I’m still in chapter 10, while the “schedule” calls for me to be reading 10-12 by Sunday. Hey, I’m not doing as poorly as I thought! I might be able to do that….
*
*

Frankensocks, a pair of fraternal twins made from left-over parts of other socks.

*
*
And, in anticipation of seeing some of my friends from “up the Hill” this weekend, I rushed to complete a new hat and mitts set for Debbie… from Katia Tundra, in the lovely 6703 color, which I found on sale at Shelby’s on our last crawl.
*
*

*
*

*
*
Both hat and mitts use the Fetching-based cable pattern I find so easy and effective. I’m also nearly done with another pair of mitts, for Gina, knit from some long ago stashed Moda Dea Cartwheel. Oh yeah, they’re quite Fetching, too. 🙂
*
*
Things have slowed down quite a bit in the reading department, due to all the busy-ness and brain drain around here…however, I read The Great Divorce, by C.S. Lewis (awesome for thinking) and two books from the Black Sheep Knitting Mystery series. which were, frankly, not so hot. I thought she stole a lot of ideas, if not more, from other, better, knitting mystery series! I’m also most of the way through, as in currently on disc 14 of 18,  Wolf Hall,  by Hilary Mantel. And, I bought Partnership to read with the Anne McCaffrey group on Shelfari, but haven’t really had time to keep up, so I’m a whopping four chapters into that book, as well. I don’t think I’m going to do any more read-a-longs (RAL) for a little while, as my TBR (to be read) stack is once again over-flowing!

I’ve got a very full weekend planned, again….and it’s meant to rain Friday and Saturday, at least. Mud should greatly enhance my Mt. Hope Madness experience….NOT! What are you all up to this weekend, or in general?

Responses

  1. Oooooo! Beautiful items! Love, the scarf, 2x love the greenish hat (sorry, not so familiar with all the names). Thanks for updating.

  2. Busy, busy! I’m impressed. Love the knits, especially that Malabrigo colorway.

    Hmmm… Since I wasn’t excited about Black Sheep #1, I think I’ll quit while I’m ahead.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  3. I thought that looked like Malabrigo up there! You’re getting a lot done.

  4. That scattered brain syndrome must be going around. I can’t seem to settle down to work on anything lately. I wish my mind had an on/off switch.
    Sue

  5. I have a brioche scarf in progress, too. Takes forever, but it really feels dense and soft. I like yours a lot.

  6. Lovely hat and mitts!

    I spent Saturday raking leaves. And Sunday relaxing, knitting and reading. A great weekend…if only they were longer!

  7. […] we started with Frankenstein….and the projects were our Frankensocks. I showed you mine last […]

  8. […] you recall last October when I posted my Frankensocks? I claimed them as an FO (finished Object) because the knitting was […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

