Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 29, 2010

Tea Fit For a Queen (more Linde Lane)

On Friday, which was my birthday, I had the opportunity to return to the Linde Lane Tearoom in Dixon.

Amy, Margaret, and I received a special invite to return and check out the changes the ladies had made to their menu. Nauturally, we didn’t waste any time accepting the offer!
*
*

*
*

I was impressed! We were seated at the teacup booth this time, which added an elelment of fun to our second visit, as did the pink mini-tiara I was given to wear when they learned it was my birthday.
*
*

*
*

The new menu is impressive! The original menu had only four tea options, whereas the new menu has ten options, ranging in price from $12 to $24. This surely means there is something for everyone. In addition to the “typical” afternoon tea fare of sancwiches, scones, and sweets, most of the luncheon options include soup and/or salad. Additionally, the sandwiches for the Duchess Tea are now both savory. The new addition is a turkey and cheese on rosemary bread.
*
*

*
*

Both Margaret and Amy opted for The Duchess Tea again, with the salad option. Suprisingly, they both chose Rooibus for their tea. Why was it a surprise? Because I’m pretty sure it was the first time either of them have ever had Rooibus and Margaret at least, is pretty fond of her caffeine. 🙂

In an effort to try as many new things as possible, I chose Asparagus and Artichoke Ravioli, which comes with a Tomoato and Mozzarella salad and an Herb scone in addition to the starter of Sorbet with shortbread.

*

*

*

*

Doesn’t that look delicious?! To complete my meal and my royal treatment, I chose the Queen’s China, an oolong, for my tea. I love a good cuppa Oolong!

*

*

*

*

It is a beautiful light color in my Royal Alpert teacup. See, all the Queen and Royal are perfect for The ScrabbleQueen!

We had a lovely time at tea and while we were there a large group of Red Hat ladies came in, too. It certainly looked and sounded like they were having a wonderful time, too. I took a few more pictures of the gift area, which I will save for another time. Or, you could pop over to this blog to see some awesome photos a photogarapher took of the Tearoom.

I think we all plan to go back to the Linde Lane Tearoom many times. In fact, I know Amy has a date to go again later this week. Lucky girl!

Oh, one last thing: here is a photo of the Old Firehouse sign for Chan.
*

Responses

  1. Happy belated birthday! Those food sure does look so inviting and I love the tea set.

  2. I love the sign, but I keep reminding myself that Gretchen hates headwear…

    What a perfect way to celebrate your birthday!

  3. A belated happy birthday to you! That’s great that you were invited back and they listened to your suggestions. The food looks great!

  4. Happy birthday! And thank you for reminding me: I have a beautiful little tea cup and saucer from my father’s mother. She didn’t drink tea, so who knows, but it was a favorite of hers and I have had it carefully out of breaking range of little kids for long enough I’d rather forgotten it was there.

    Thank you so much for making me think of her.

  5. my good dishes are Royal Doulton Old Country Roses, wish I could come for a visit so we could go together!!!

  6. Well Happy Birthday! Looks like you celebrated it in grand fashion. I tell you- those pictures are certainly making me hungry!! Love the Old Country Rose teacup. Though I have many many teacups, I only own 3 pieces of the OCR; a burgandy one, a blue one, and a small burgandy one. They are soooo pretty!
    If you are ever up my way, we must do tea!

  7. Happy Birthday! It looks like you had a lovely time. I so wish we had tea rooms here. We used to have a couple but they closed. Everything looks really good.

  8. Happy Birthday! What an awesome outing. The food looks ridiculously yummy! I have never been to a tea room, but I think you just gave me a great excuse to go to one! I love tea too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

