Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 23, 2010

Bookish Thoughts

Back at the end of May I posted about my summer reading plans. I listed ten books that I hoped/planned to read over the course of June-August. Now that then end of August is in sight, I thought I’d check back, to see how I’d done….

Of the ten books listed, I actually read only three, plus have a start on a fourth. That doesn’t, however, mean I’ve read only three books all summer! I just read some I hadn’t planned on….

From the books planned list, I read Darjeeling, Maisie Dobbs, and Nights of Rain and Stars, plus have begun Words To Live By, which will take several months to finish, as I read only a few entries each day from that book. In addition to those, I also read:

Filling Up The Afflictions of Christ by John Piper

Dragon Song by Anne McCaffery   (BOTM)

Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett

Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey  (BOTM)

Pardonable Lies by Jacqueline Winspear (book 3 Maisie Dobbs)

Private Justice by Terri Blackstock

Shadow Of Doubt by Terri Blackstock

Dragon Drums by Anne McCaffrey  (BOTM)

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card   (BOTM)

Birds Of A Feather by Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs book 2, oops!)

Double Minds by Terri Blackstock

And will finish by tonight, Moreta: Daragon Lady of Pern….Anne McCaffrey.  (BOTM)

Altogether, fifteeen books completed and one still in progress. Oh, and I started listening to Michael Palin Diaries 1969-1979, The Python Years in the car yesterday. I’m partway through the second section, somewhere in 1974….

Year total for completed books (not counting Moreta yet) is 38. I’m pretty happy with that, as my goal for 2010 at the start of the year was 52….and I wasn’t sure then that I could make it. Now, however, I feel confidant that I will!

*** Just found out that one can read, in advance of it’s publication, chapters from the new Castle book. LOL…off to read the first four chapters….


Responses

  1. Impressive. I was shocked at my list when I finally updated my “I’m Reading” account over the weekend!


Leave a comment

Categories