Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 6, 2010

Quirky Questions…..For Readers

or “All About My Book Habits

Okay…I got this from Carin at A Little Bookish, who got it from The Literary Lollipop, who said it was okay to copy and share! I loved reading Carin’s list, so I thought I’d give it a go here.

1. Favourite childhood book:
This is really tough because I loved so many books as a child. I think Little Women by Louisa May Alcott is a real contender here. Two other favorites were A Little Princess and The secret Garden, both by Frances Hodgson Burnett, and a favorites series was (and is) The Prydain Chronicles, by Lloyd Alexander.

2. What are you reading right now?
Birds Of A Feather by Jacqueline Winspear, book 2 of the Maisie Dobbs series and
Words To Live By, a collection of writings by C.S. Lewis, arranged topically in alphabetical order.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

The Queen’s Governess by Karen Harper.

4. Bad book habit:
Buying but not reading. My Mount TBR is ridiculous. (copied from Carin, but true!)

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

Birds Of A Feather as noted above.

6. Do you have an e-reader?
NO, but I recently downloaded the Border’s Desktop (a reader for my PC)

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I prefer to read one book at a time, but sometimes I read two, or even three, at a time. If so, you can bet they are all very different types of books.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Oh yes. With all the great reviews of books I’ve seen on other’s blogs, I keep finding more and more books I want to read. As a result, I’ve re-established my old habit of devouring books, which I had to give up for many years due to the necessities of life.

9. Least favourite book you read this year:

Julie and Julia, by Julie Powell. I really wanted to read this after seeing the film. It made me mad, but I kept on reading and hoping…and it was terrible to the end.

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year:
I can’t pick just one! I really loved Ender’s Game, which I just finished and Maisie Dobbs, and Intervention, by Terri Blackstock.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Not so much. By now, I have a pretty good idea of what I like, so I try to be open-minded, but not feel pressured to go where I don’t want to go with my reading.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
I like both fiction and non-fiction. I especially like histories and biographies, but I also enjoy some political and “religeous” material. In fiction, I like some sci-fi, some fantasy, some mystery, some historical fiction, some suspense, and so on, but there are a number of sub-categories which I don’t like at all!!

13. Can you read on the bus?
I really don’t do well reading in moving vehicles, as a rule…so I prefer to knit on the bus!

14. Favourite place to read:
On my couch with a dog curled up beside me and a cuppa tea nearby.

15. What’s your policy on book lending?
I loan books, but I’ve had to let go of getting upset if they don’t come back . I won’t lend books I can’t live without anymore. 

16. Do you dogear your books?
 Absolutely not! Tsk, Tsk to those who do.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books?
No, not usually. I prefer to make notes elsewhere if I feel the need.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books?
Not if it can be helped. However, some of my books are old, and some were used and abused when I got them, so some of my books DO have cracked (or broken)spines.

19. What is your favourite language to read?
I can really only read English. I have some proficiency at German and Spanish (and a very little French) but not enough to read more than a simple children’s book. I’d like to change that, though….and read in German.

20. What makes you love a book?
Well developed characters, well written language, and something compelling about the story. This is true for both fiction and non-fiction. How some authors take an historical figure and twist them, or make them boring, infuriates me.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
I typically recommend books that I think people will like based on their reading tastes. There are few books that I recommend because I liked them so much I want others to read it so we can talk about the book together.

22. Favourite genre:
Um…this is tooo hard! This year it looks like mystery/suspense and sci-fi/fantasy are the big winners.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did):
Classical literature, which is different from “The Classics”.

24. Favourite Biography:
I have really liked several biographies a lot. John Adams, by David McCullough and The First American;The Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin, by H.W. Brands, are two which come to mind easily.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Yes, but I don’t remember off-hand what.(probably a diet book) In general, not a big fan of self-help books.

26. Favourite Cookbook:
Again, only one?! I love my mother’s old 1958 copy of The Joy of Cooking and my two Jewish cook books. But I also love several of my smaller, specialty cook books, too. Can you say yum! to cookies, muffins, breads, lemon desserts, and apple treats? I have books for all of these, and more. A quite respectable collection, I think.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction):
        Filling Up the Afflictions of Christ: The Cost of Bringing the Gospel to the Nations in the Lives of William Tyndale, Adoniram Judson, and John Paton (Swans Are Not Silent)

28. Favourite reading snack:
Tea and Digestives. (preferabble the dark chocolate variety)

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:
The His Dark Materials books by Phillip Pullman. I read them before the movie and all the hype and controvery and found them to be ok, but somewhat disturbing. The whole circus surrounding the movie release really ruined the series for me; I just couldn’t read it again (even if I wanted to , which was un-likely anyway) and there was no way I would have gone to see the movie after all that either!

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book?
 I don’t read a lot of critics reviews of books. I mostly get recommendations fromfriends, bloggers, Amazon, and Shelfari friends.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
Why should that bother me? It’s a fact that we all like different things, and books are no different than anything else in this regard. I like some, but not others. I give my honest opinion, knowing some won’t care a hoot what I think But that’s fine with me.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?
German and Latin. See above questions for the whys.

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read

       Hmm. Not exactly sure what this means. I guess Quo Vadis, because it was a difficult book on many levels.

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:
No idea. As I said before, I don’t feel pressured to read what I don’t want to read anymore. I know some books will be more challenging than others, but what would make a book imtimidating?

35. Favourite Poet:
Lewis Carroll; He’s hysterical. Jaberwocky was the first “long” poem I ever memorized.I also like Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Sonnets From The Portugese.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?
One to two books. I don’t like to feel like I have to hurry to finish on time. Besides, I’m spoiled. My son has worked at the library for the past three years. He brings me home the books I want and then takes them back for me. I’m gonna miss my personal currier service when he leaves for college in a few weeks!

37. How often do you return books to the library unread?
Very rarely.

38. Favourite fictional character:
Robinton, the Master Harper from Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series.

39. Favourite fictional villain:
Professor Moriarty, from the Sherlock Homes books.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation:
 Fun fiction or a really good history that I’ve been dying to read. Or, both is even better.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading:
No reading at all? I’ve always read something! The longest without reading for pure pleasure? I think it may have been nearly a year, back when I was busy being a home school mom. I had so much reading to do for school, that I didn’t dare take time for fun stuff during the school year.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish:
Saving Fish From Drowining, by Amy Tan. I tried, really I did, but I just couldn’t take another page of sleezy thoughts!

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
LOL…easily? Mostly my family. Most other things I can totally ignore.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel:
Pride and Prejudice, the Colin Firth version.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation:
The Two Towers. Seriously…it was a GREAT book, why did they have to change the story so *&^% (darn) much?

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:
$75 USD Online, however, I’ve actually spent more….on only one book!!

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
Not often. I tend to read covers and fly leaves, or synopses to help choose books.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?
If the story is nasty, I’ll give up. I rarely ever do though. I tend to think it will get better.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
I do like to, but I confess, I haven’t done a good job of it. There are just so many of them and once you get behind, it seems to be impossible to catch up again. 

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?
I prefer to keep my books, but I have started giving them to my son to take to the used bookstore to trade because I just have too many. I send away the ones I don’t think I’ll read again. I’m trying to not keep every book I buy, and I’m trying to buy fewer books. Thing is, the library often doesn’t have the books I want!

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?
I was avoiding Ender’s Game…but I just read it, and I’m so glad I did!!

52. Name a book that made you angry:
I try to choose my books carefully enough to avoid reading things that are likely to make me angry. Certain political books are obvious examples of things that would make me livid if I actually read them

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did:
Wizard’s First Rule. I thought it would be a good story, but too violent for me to enjoy. I know, however, that things get even worse in the rest of the series, so at this point, I’m not planning to read any more of them.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t:
Julie and Julia. I thought it would be a lot like the movie. It wasn’t. I hated almost all of it. Oh, yeah, and it DID make me mad, come to think of it!

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading:
Cosy mysteries, like the Tea Shop mysteries and Scrapbook mysteries by Laura Childs. Other good cosy’s include Maggie Sefton’s Knitting Mysteries and the Bibliophile mysteries, by Kate Carlisle.

Do you want to take the quiz? Go ahead and post the questionnaire on your blog! Also, check out the other blogs that have done this quiz that I listed at the top. Thanks to The Literary Lollipop for posting it! This was fun!

Responses

  1. I love that you liked Ender’s Game. It was amazing. Why were you resistant to reading it?

    That’s really funny that you couldn’t finish Saving Fish from Drowning. It took me two tries to read it, but I really like that book. The first time I think I just wasn’t in the mood and it is really different from her other books. The second time, I soaked it up. I thought it was pretty interesting. A lot of people don’t like Amy Tan though so I’m not really surprised that you didn’t like it. She seems to be one of those polarizing authors (just like Julie and Julia–lots of people like it and lots hate it!).

  2. What a great post! I don’t know that I’ll get around to answering the same, but I’d like to. Too bad I just learned that the definitely not an internet knight ordered a replacement modem online, so it will be at least next week before we’re back in business at home.

    HRMPH. For that, I’m going to at least one bookstore tomorrow!

  3. That is quite the survey. I finally posted about our meeting. My company is all gone and I’m trying to catch up now…

  4. Cold Mountain. Finished it and flipped right back to page one. But don’t read the guy’s 13 Moons–I found myself arguing with the author the whole time, on timelines, on believability, on character development (not!) But Cold Mountain, yes, definitely.

  5. That’s too bad about Julia and Julia. It was a cute movie.

    I’ve copied, but I don’t know I’ll ever finish filling out the questions, there’s quite a few! It sounds like our tastes are similar though.

  6. […] Book You Do? Last week, I saw a post on Ruth’s blog that made me think.   You can follow the links (to Ruth’s blog, then beyond) back to where […]

  7. It took me a while but I finally got around to answering the questions and posting it on my blog. It is interesting to learn more about friends reading tastes.

  8. this is a meme I would enjoy doing like Chan, it is so informative Thanks for taking all that time to do it!

  9. […] Bookish Thoughts Thanks to Chan who posted this meme (she got it from Ruth). […]

  10. Awesome! Thanks for participating!

    I remember reading the first installment of His Dark Materials before the movie came out. I was really hooked. But then I started the second book and I had to get used to a whole new set of characters. My interest quickly dwindled….


Leave a Reply

Categories

