Posted by: scrabblequeen | June 23, 2010

Catching Up

NOT! Three days without internet access is too much catching up to do, so…we went to the Cave of Smoo, and spent two days exploring Orkney. We took long drives through the Highlands, and a ferry over to Orkney.

Thi morning, we packed up our bags (and our bus) to head from Lybster over to the Castle of Dunrobin, and then on to Inverness.

I caught Dearest in the garden at the hotel, sitting on Cupid’s bench.

*
*

*
*
While on the road, we passed by some Highland Coo
*
*

*
*
Once we arrived at Dunrobin Castle, it seemed the time was right for a group photo…so we all gathered ’round
*
*

*
*
Dunrobin is a beautiful castle, with lovely gardens and a long history. I shot this picture from down in the gardens…
*
*

*
*
We took a quick tour of the castle before going down to see the
falconry “show”. Today’s guests of honor…
*
*

*
*
the missing name before falcon was…Peregrine. He was a one year old beauty, who was there because the falconer at the castle participates in bird of prey rescues. This young bird had lost his tail feathers and would have likely died if not for the rescue. Incredibley fast flyer, that one.

The hawk was very, very cool, too. But I’ll show you the owl because Karen from our group got to be the “audience participation” gal for the owl.
*
*

*
*

I’ll finish up with a shot of me from Tuesday, at the Cliffs of Yesnaby on the main island of Orkney. (just to prove I was there)
*
*

*
*
There is so much more I want to share with you, but it will have to wait for another time. Free time is hard to come by, and the internet connection is only good in the lobby. So excuse me while I go off to bed!

Responses

  1. Oh girl. Enjoy, enjoy, vicariously for me. You are giving me the travel itch!!

  2. Please tell me that somewhere, there’s a photo of you and yours on that bench. Clearly, he was waiting for you to join him…

    Love the beautiful photos, but look at those cute shoes in the last shot! Are they serving you well?

  3. Looks and sounds like a lovely trip! I love hearing about it. That picture of the castle from the gardens is so cool!

  4. Thanks for taking the time to keep us updated. I love your pictures!

  5. Ruth, your trip looks amazing! I have to say, I’m a little jealous! 😛

    I hope you have fun on the rest of your trip and I hope you’ll post more pictures too!

    Oh, I also found a blogger who went to a beanie festival in Alice Springs, Australia and she said they take entries for beanies from all over the world. I thought you might be interested since you make such cute knit hats. Here’s the LINK.

    Can’t wait to hear your report on your vacation once you get home! Have fun!

    ~Carin B.

  6. What a great picture of you!! Thank you for sharing these pictures with us all!

  7. Someone once clocked a peregrine dive-bombing at 241 mph.


Leave a Reply

Categories

