Posted by: scrabblequeen | June 18, 2010

All Aboard

Thursday morning we opted too sleep in a little rather than continue our bus tour of Edinburgh. We packed, had a wee bite of breakfast, checked the email, and then strolled down to Haymarket station to catch the train to Glasgow. I have nothing remarkable to say about the rest of that day, as it was pretty quiet, overall.

We bussed up to the airport after our train arrived in Glasgow, checked into our hotel, and met up with the rest of our tour group. After dinner, we hung out for a few hours with a good-sized group of musicians (on the tour with us) sang a little, clapped a little, laughed a lot, and generally had a good time until bedtime. No internet there…nothing to see, move along.

Today was mostly spent on the bus driving from Glasgow to Ullapool. We made a nice stop in Pitlochry for lunch and a bit of shopping. I had the ‘fish tea” (fish, chips, bread, and tea) while hubs enjoyed “Chippy Chicken” and chips, with a nice, cold McEwan’s.

A little later we stoppped in Carrbridge to see the Old Bridge, built in 1717 across the river Dulnain.
*
*

*
*
The view was spectacular, on both sides of the road…looking up-stream at the bridge or downstream away from the bridge.
*
*

*
*
There were also many lovely flowers along the road in Carrbridge. I’ll just show you the Lupines for now..
*
*


*
*
We continued our drive into the Highlands, arriving at Ullapool just a tad before dinner time. After supper, we had our first “concert”, featuring Men of Worth and Donnie’s old pal Allistair Currie.
*
*

*
*
When the last song was sung and the last tuned played it was after 11 pm. I stepped outside to cool off a bit (49 degrees) and took this picture of Loch Broom. No flash needed…Can you say far north, just days away from the summer solstice?
*
*

Responses

  1. Love that bridge. It is amazing how long it stays light the farther north you go! :0)

  2. So when does it get dark? Lovely photos!

    • Amy, It got dark somewhere around midnight, I think. Then, it gets light again around 3ish…Good drapes are a must up here!

      The ScrabbleQueen

  3. No wonder I haven’t heard much from you lately. I wish I was in Scotland too! I spent my BD there (June 19) in 1994 – and those beautiful tall lupine were blooming there everywhere, so you brought back a memory for me. Love the bridge shot. I also miss having the day light much longer. That took me some getting used to when I moved to California!

  4. Love the old bridge and the light-at-night loch. Good drapes would be a must for me, as my body has this very simple theory – sun’s up, I’m up.

  5. I am not jealous. Not in the least. Nope, not at all. Never.

    Hope your trip continues to be a good one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

