Posted by: scrabblequeen | June 4, 2010

Book Beginnings

I was reading over at Bowlie’s blog and saw this meme, which seemed perfect for me, as I’m starting a barand new book today.

Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme hosted by Becky at Page Turners. Anyone can participate; just share the opening sentence of your current read, making sure that you include the title and author so others know what you’re reading. If you like, share with everyone why you do, or do not, like the sentence.

Darjeeling, by Bharti Kirchner

Aloka Gupta gazed down from the window of her apartment at the gray-brown hustle of Manhattan’s Fifty-second Street, her thoughts returning to her childhood home and the family-owned tea plantation in Darjeeling.

It’s a quiet opening, but I like the picture it paints of the “gray-brown” city while it hints at the richness of India coming later.

Truthfully, I’ve just read that far, but the synopsis makes me eager to go on.

If you’d like to read a synopsis of the story, scroll down to the Summer Reading post, where you will find a link to the book.

Responses

  1. I keep seeing this book pop up all over. I’ll check back with you after you finish to see if you think it’s a good read. Sounds like it will be. I feel like when I read about India I can smell spices in the air. 🙂

  2. Nice start!

    Here is my Book Beginning Friday 🙂

  3. I love that opening sentence, it makes me want to read the book! Thanks for participating

  4. Nice start! I too will be waiting to hear if you think I need to add this to my reading list.

  5. What a great first sentence. I’ve only read one of her books but I liked it. I hope you enjoy the book!


Leave a Reply

Categories

