Posted by: scrabblequeen | May 29, 2010

Summer Reading Plans

I was over at A Mingled Yarn a week ago and Gloriana had put up a post called Summer Reading. Good idea! Is my first thought, Interesting books, my next. Both of these were followed by the ever popular, “I can do that, too”. So I am.

My current stack
*
*

*
*
From top to bottom:

The Peshawar Lancers by S.M. Stirling,

Nights of Rain And Stars by Maeve Binchy,

 Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear,

The Life Times of The Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson,

 More Turkey Soup For The Sarcastic Soul by Mike G. Williams,
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen,
Words To Live By by C.S. Lewis,
Darjeeling by Bharti Kirchner,
Tuesday The Rabbi Saw Red by Harry Kemelman,

 and The Mapping of Love And Death by Jaqueline Winspear.

Whew! I’ve included links to a synopisis for each book, so you can appreciate the diversity in this stack. I don’t know what order I’ll be reading these in, and I can almost guarantee I’ll read a few not on this list, but I am looking forward to a steady diet of books this summer.

I’ll be reading along with the Anne McCaffrey group on Shelfari, assuming I have, or can acquire the Book of The Month and I hope to knock off at least one or two more books for the Flashback Challenge as well.
What about you all? What are your summer plans, including reading, this year?

Responses

  1. Well I’m reading The Mayflower and have a reading assignment for a meeting in two weeks, and beyond that? Who knows?

  2. I hope you enjoy the thunderbolt kid. its hilarious

  3. […] books while on the trip and since I got home 1. . First, Darjeeling by Bharti Kirschner, from my Summer Reading stack. It was a story about relationships more than anything. I found it interesting, but not […]

  4. […] Back at the end of May I posted about my summer reading plans. I listed ten books that I hoped/planned to read over the course of June-August. Now that then end […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

