Posted by: scrabblequeen | May 6, 2010

Doing The Happy Dance

This evening I had the opportunity to attend a program at the local library, sponsored by the
Woodland Reads group, featuring Jacqueline Winspear, the author of the Maisie Dobbs series.

This lovely lady spoke at three different events in town today, in three different locations! I really enjoyed her talk on the hisotry behind the series. The aftermath of the Great War, which I know a bit about, being a history buff, was presented from a new angle…that of how it profoundly affected the women of Britain and it’s connection to the Suffrage movement. She based her main character Maisie on the tough, smart, newly independant women who emerged after the war ended.

I confess, I had not read any of the books before tonight, but now I most certainly will! I took the opportunity to purchase both the first book (Maisie Dobbs) and the newest title in the series, The Mapping of Love and Death. Ms. Winspear was kind enough to autograph both books, while a friend kindly took our photograph, since I forgot to bring my camera to the event.

What a delightful eveing! I love history, I love books….both together….priceless! And that is why I’m “doing the happy dance”. 🙂

Responses

  1. OK, time to post a picture of your autographs! So excited for you! 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to hear more about these books… not that I need more titles in my “to read” pile!

  3. I hadn’t heard of this series. I’ll have to check our library and see if I can get a copy. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

