Posted by: scrabblequeen | April 30, 2010

Flashback Challange update

Today, (April 30th) I finished re-reading the classic novel The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexander Dumas. I really enjoyed this story, once we got past the beginning section, which was rather dry, and during which I found the very flowery langauge to be a bit grating. As the adventure develops, for it is an adventure, the language bothered me much less.
I guess one should expect that a story written (completed) in 1844, and in French, to boot, might have one or two language issues.

I am glad I chose this book for one of my re-reads because the films which have been made, including my favorite, the 2002 version starring Jim Caviezel, do not faithfully follow the story as laid out in the original manuscript. I acknowledge that since I read this book in English, rather than French, that it isn’t really the original, but it does follow much more closely than any of the movie version.

The Count of Monte Cristo is so many things rolled into one epic tale. It is a love story, and adventure, a history, and a moral play. Set mainly in France and Italy, it covers the time period from 1815-1838, which includes the very volatile period know as the Hundred Days. Dumas includes political hisotry as well as some cultural history as he paints his portrait of love, love interrupted, life interrupted, vengance, and redemption.

I recommend this book for adventure lovers who are willing to tackle some rather archaic moral codes and some romance as well. The descriptions of the wealthy and the aristocratic society of France, and Europe at large, during this period may take a stout heart to endure, but it is all worth it in the end.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (because the flowery-ness bugged me just enough to not be a 5)

Responses

  1. I admire you for re-reading the classics. I don’t think I’d re-read this one without a professor and a grade breathing down my neck!

  2. I’m not sure I could get through this one again either. It bugs me that the guy puts more than half his life into revenge and doesn’t really have anything at the end of it. And yet it was a good yarn.

  3. That’s Rob’s favorite book of all time. I think I’ll pass.


Leave a Reply

Categories

