Posted by: scrabblequeen | April 26, 2010

Hither And Yon

This past weekend was full to brim with sunshine, music, friends, and activites.
Saturday was opening day for the Scottish Games, right here in my town. Because I’ve blogged about this event before, I’ll just give you a link for the games, and not put up a bunch pictures here. I had to head out to the fairgrounds on my own, as Hubby Dearest was working/on-call, and was planning to meet me there as work allowed. My plan called for meet-ups with a number of friends who were also coming out to enjoy the sunshine, the music, the history, the food, and the shopping.

I was able to keep part, but not all of my plan, as some friends were found while others were not. I wandered about the fairground for an hour after my arrival spending a few minutes at each of several venues, before settling in to watch the Parade of Clans which marks the Opening Ceremonies each year. Luck was with me, as Hubby arrived just as the Parade was commencing, so we were able to keep a lunch time appointment with a local couple and a couple who we’ve not seen in many years. That was definately my favorite memory of the Games this year!

Sunday I had the opportunity to accompany my friend Donna, and her daughter Erin, to the 10th Annual Daffodil Tea which is held on Mare Island….an old Navy base.
*
*

*
*
The “Tea” begins with a program held in St Peter’s Chapel, which is the U.S. Navy’s oldest chapel. The chapel is wonderful, and features Tiffany stained glass windows! Because we attended the second “sitting” of the day, we were blessed to have the Vallejo Choral Society provide the musical entertainment. They were very good and performed eight classical and contemporary pieces for us, as well as leading the closing hymn, a traditional Navy hymn, from which we sang two verses, Eternal Father, Strong To Save, and the Submariner Verse of The Navy Hymn.
*
*

*
*

*
*
After the program, which included reminiscences from a lady who was celebrating her 80th birthday, and who had grown up on Mare Island and was married in St peter’s chapel on Christmas Eve 1952, we all walked down the street to Quarters C, a Captain’s Row Mansion. Outside the house there were several local artists, who were both busy painting and also offering several completed pieces for sale. On the porch, the preservation society was selling tea, lemon curd, and a number of other items to help raise funds and to provide a memory of the even. Naturally, I had to buy a tin of the special Daffodil Tea. 🙂
*
*

*
*

Once inside, we had a chance to view the Silent Auction offerings and a wonderful pewter Tea Set which had been donated to the Society by a former officer and resident of Mare Island. Our table was upstairs in the “peach” room right by the window, which gave us a nice view of the grounds and the neighboring mansion. We were served a nice “afternoon tea” featuring scones, sandwiches, a little strawberry shortcake, and of course, the Daffodil tea.

Before we left the island, we took a quick drive down a few streets we hadn’t seen on the way in, and found a few items of interest. If you enjoy history or old architechture, you might enjoy a trip to Mare Island yourself. If you’re a military history buff, there is a museum here just for you!
*
*

Responses

  1. That is so cool. Love that church and the stained glass windows are amazing. Yikes Tiffany? The second window is cut off from my view…
    Looks like another great adventure for you…

  2. I’m absolutely GREEN with envy! Yes, yes, the parade of clans would be fun to watch, but that tea! Did you bid on anything at the silent auction? Did you win anything?

  3. We used to attend the Scottish Games in Syracuse. It was always a fun way to spend the day.

  4. I looked for you at the games and didn’t see you. I forgot the phone numbers. Didn’t find A and E either.

    The tea sounds wonderful. My brother was married in that chapel too. I was not there so have never seen it. (He was in the Navy and they didn’t have a big wedding)

  5. How fun! It sounds marvelous. We had to miss the Irish festival in Dallas this year, unfortunately.

    And I remember ‘Eternal Father Strong to Save’ very well- I went to Mass at the chapel on the local navy base most of the years I was growing up. Except during the holidays, we always closed with it, doing the verses for the Navy and the Marines. We’d do other verses when apropos- the NASA verse when there was a space launch, for example.


Leave a Reply

Categories

