Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 27, 2010

Up To Five Miles

The latest Round Robin photo Challenge has us heading down the road! ( for Sat. 3/27)

Simple, right? Pick a direction, travel five miles (about 8 kilometers) in that direction, and then photograph what you find. Maybe there’s something within five miles from your home that you’ve always wanted to photograph. Well, here’s your chance – and if it’s only three and a half miles away, well, what are we, the Google Maps police? Or maybe you’ll generate a random choice of direction (e.g. let someone spin you around, blindfolded, or, um, something) go exactly five miles, and photograph whatever happens to be there. You decide how you want to play this. But please, don’t go more than five miles away, okay?

Okay…so I decided to head East, but I didn’t go anywhere near 5 miles away. It just happens that perhaps one half mile from my home is a very interesting landmark. This particular landmark has become quite famous, or maybe that should be infamous, in recent years, appearing in several travel-oriented magazines and on some PBS travel shows as well. I present to you all, our little corner of the world’s claim to fame:

Reiff’s Gas Station

*
*

*
*
This local attraction has been a work-in -progress for many years. It sits in a quiet, un-assuming neighborhood, right next to all the “ordinary” houses.
*
*

*
*
Here’s a close-up of the part that really gets folks doing a double-take.
*
*

*
*
I took my photos just the other day, especially for this challenge, but if you follow the link, you’ll see that there’s more to this craziness than is visible from the outside. All photos will “embiggen” if clicked.

Don’t forget to go see all the other great Robin’s photos, also!

Responses

  1. Now that is quite a sight! Talk about some interesting yard art! LOL
    I’ll have to check inside, too.
    Happy weekend to you…

  2. Oh my gosh! I love it!! I’m so glad you chose this as your subject. Where is this place? I want to visit!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Ruth ๐Ÿ™‚

    I LIKE that little gas station very much! ๐Ÿ™‚ What an awesome little place to photograph! Gosh, I am seeing some great things today. Thank you for the smile you just brought me. ๐Ÿ™‚ LOVE the street signs, in fact, you just gave me a great idea for a future MPS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, if you want to join us for the Monday Photo Shoot, we would love to have you along for the fun. Just see my blog, Ellipsis, on Monday, for the current assignment!

    -Carly

  4. How cool is that place! Got me looking all over the place for those little out of the ordinary things in the shots. Thanks.

  5. What fun! I would totally go there. I love all that midcentury Americana stuff! Thanks for showing it off!

  6. What an interesting gas station, definitely not like the usual boring stations we have here. Worth making that trip for such wonderful shots.

  7. These are the kind of places you find way far from home…you must feel like you are on a road trip every time you pass this corner!

  8. What a hoot! thanks for the pix, they brightened my day!

  9. What cool photos. I would definitely stop and take pictures of that if I drove by!

  10. Fun! I somehow logged myself out of WordPress instead of posting my previous comment. One of THOSE days…


Leave a Reply

Categories

