Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 23, 2010

For Chan

It seems that Chan and I both went to Stampin’ Up parties last Saturday, albeit on opposite sides of the country! She posted lovely pictures of her cards, and was quite disappointed that I hadn’t done likewise.
Well, as usual, I gave one away on Sunday, and hadn’t taken a photo of it yet….so, what was I to do?

Solution arrived at: Bonnie, who invited me to the party in the first place, has made the same card (pretty much) and was nice enough to send me pics of her card. Yeah for good friends!

Our first card of the afternoon was a cute little spring-y thing with lots of layers of paper…and very little stamping.
*
*

*
*
Please don’t mention if you happen to notice the little boo boo on the front. I can’t hear you, la la la la….
I LOVE the stamp I used for the inside. I want it. I need it. However, as it is only available as part of a large-ish set, which I don’t need, I didn’t get it.
*
*

*
*
Don’t you just love that saying?
The second card, was the big winner, from my point of view. It seems Miss Bonita (aka Bonnie) ratted me out to the consultant, telling her that I wasn’t so much into all the paper stuff, but preferred to do more stamping techniques. LOL…so the second card was designed…..for my happiness!

We did a whole lotta fun stuff with ink and sponges, making our own designer paper for this card. Everybody’s card looked different as a result. Here is Bonnie’s card…
*
*

*
*
Isn’t it pretty? Mine had the flower up in the right hand corner, rather than on the little flowered part. Mine was also centered a little differently…Want to see a little hint of the inside?
*
*

*
*
We stamped all over a good sized piece of card stock, and then cut out the strip and the little rectangle, which left plenty of it left for me to take home. 🙂 I also kept the little paper which we had added some raised dots to, and then run through the die-cut machine to get our little birds and branches…That I do have pics of…
*
*

*
*
I hadn’t been to an actual Stampin’ Up party in years and years…it was really nice to have a small group. Lately, I’ve only been stamping/card making at the monthly Card Club at Bonnie’s, which is usually 12-16 gals, and really crowded.

Happy now Chan? Send me any questions you might have about “how we did that”.

Responses

  1. pretty cards, my oldest daughter has done this but I never have

  2. I am blessed to have good friends, who have good friends who understand the need to see new card designs! Thank you, Bonnie and Ruth!

    I don’t see a boo-boo on the first card. Besides, we call them “unique touches that show it really is handmade” around here.

    I do like that quote on card #1 inside too. Don’t tell me which set it is in, because I already have more stamps than I have sense.

    Is the pink paper in the last photo embossed by hand or did it come that way?

  3. What fabulous cards. I love that saying, too! My girlfriend from high school that I just got reunited with does this with a group of her friends. Beautiful results for sure!

  4. That sounds like it was really fun! Plus, you got some fabulous results and that’s always a bonus (but fun is more gooder).

  5. What a coincidence! I went to a Stampin’ Up party last week (in fact I was the hostess, lol) and I had to have that bird punch. I picked it up today and used it immediately!
    Such fun, and lovely cards. Thanks for the idea with the bird one, lol.
    Wanda

  6. Those are so amazing! I am very jealous of your Mad Skillz!! *love*

  7. The cards are so pretty. I used to make cards years ago. Now I think I have too many distractions.

  8. Wow. And here I only knit!

  9. There’s a boo boo on the first one? Where? I don’t see anything wrong, it’s lovely! I am loving the cards you & Chan are doing…. making me want to take up another craft. LOL

    (Like I have time….)


Leave a Reply

Categories

