Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 11, 2010

Almost

According to the calendar, it is almost spring. Yippeee! But even better, my yard is busy proclaiming the same thing.

See the buds on the lilac bush?
*
*

*
*
And the little white Hyacinth is blooming already.
*
*

*
*
The new brass pot to “hold the hose” is in place. (and looks so much better than the old reel)
*
*

*
*
The wonderful, (free!) paving stones are lined up and ready to make a path to the shed when the muddy season passes.
*
*

*
*
There are rose buds, and iris buds, and freesia buds, and gladiola straps popping up all over. The yard is whispering, “spring is coming” in so many different ways. But, perhaps my favorite sign of approaching spring is this; the blossoms on the plum tree. Why? Well, it is very pretty, however, plum blossoms put me in mind of plums, which means summer, which conjures up all manner of wonderful thoughts of fresh fruit and veggies, and school being out, and travel, and kid’s visits, and….sigh. I may want to stop and enjoy spring a while first….You think?
*
*

Early Spring in the Garden

Responses

  1. Lovely! I want a lilac bush…

  2. Love the lilac buds. I so want to plant a couple lilac bushes/trees in my yard.
    Love the copper pot idea for the hose!
    Yippee for Spring!

  3. Beautiful pics! I love the smell of lilacs…the house I grew up in had them.

    Where I am, we’re experiencing springlike weather, and my irises are starting to put up little shoots. I go out and remonstrate with them, “No, go back! It’s not your time! Won’t you feel silly if we get a foot of snow tomorrow?” (It doesn’t seem to be working very well…they’re still growing.)

  4. Beautiful! It is actually blustery here in California. I hope our blossoms bloom soon!

  5. Love all the new developments. That path sounds great!

  6. You couldn’t get your garden to talk to my garden and let it know it’s spring, could you? Very purty!

  7. while I have seen snowdrops, aconite and forget me nots in bloom the lilac’s won’t bloom here until around the first of May They are my favorite scent in the world

  8. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a lilac bud. It is beginning to look like spring in the Deep South too. Thanks for posting the lovely pictures.

  9. Isn’t it the nicest reward after our snowy winter to see all that new growth? Happiness is spring!

  10. You’re way ahead of us. Our trees have only the tiniest buds. We need a little warmth to make things start popping.


Leave a Reply

Categories

