Posted by: scrabblequeen | February 26, 2010

Winter Warm-Up Swap

When Grace declared she was going to host a Winter Warm-Up swap again this year I…..hesitated. I wasn’t sure that it was a good time for me to commit to anything, especially anything which required knitting. I had my hands full with several projects already, not least of which was my February Lady sweater, still languishing long after my KAL buddy had completed hers.

In the long run, though, I decided to go for it. My swap partner, both coming and going, was Wanda. (Socks4Me on Ravelry) Wanda doesn’t have a blog, so snooping had to be limited to her Rav pages and whatever I could find out by chatting with her by emails and Rav messages. Because it was her first swap of any kind, I really wanted to make sure it was a good experience for her, while she, on the other hand, wanted to be sure to “do it right” for me. 🙂

Well, I think were both successful! I received a lovely box of goodies from “the frozen north” almost a week ago. I didn’t want to post until she got hers too, so I could share some of what I sent, as well as what I received. It was pretty exciting to be getting a box, as it’s been a good while since my last swap.

How did I know it was “the” box? Well….
*
*

*
*
I thought the maple leaves were a pretty good clue. But, this might have been even a tad better….
*
*

*
*
My first peek confirmed that this was going to be a fun box to un-pack.
*
*

*
*
All of the little goodies inside were wrapped in glittery tissue and tagged with fun little hand made notes. What a nice extra touch! I sometimes manage cute tissue, but all the notes, never.
*
*

*
*
When all the parcels had been opened and oohed and aahed over, I had quite a pile of goodies.
*
*

*
*
See the yarn? Wanda dyed that special for me! Lol…she was trying for greens and blues, but it “split” on her and added purple into the mix. I love purple with blue and green! And I love “coincidences” too. And the PG Tips….loose leaf! I’ve never been able to buy loose PG TIPs, so that’s a real treat for me.
*
*

*
*
I really love all the yummy, pretty, and thoughtful gifts Wanda packed into that box for me. I love the gloves. They are soft, stretchy, and lightweight, besides being terribly cute. I might have to try to learn that crocheted edging trick someday….

On the flip side, I didn’t, as usual, manage a photo of all that went into the box that went TO the frozen north, but I want to share the Lacy Fingerless Mittens that I made for Wanda. I used Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport in the Tahoe colorway. It’s a fav of mine and just happens to be the right colors for her, too. Even thought the pattern calls for fingering weight yarn and size 1 needles, the mitts came out a pretty good size. At least I could be sure they weren’t going to be too small…..:-)
*
*

*
*
I’m glad I decided to particpate in this swap. Wanda is a really neat lady, and it turns out we had much in common. We both like dark chocolate and tea, and we’re both Anglophiles who appreciate a nice package of Digestives. We both have sons who we’d do almost anything for, and on and on. Thanks to both Wanda and Grace for a fun mid-winter diversion.

Responses

  1. Looks like a fun box of goodies. The colors in that yarn are cool. Your fingerless mittens are great!
    Have a good weekend. We’ll be driving somewhere near your part of California this weekend on our way back to Seattle….

  2. What great fun! The yarn is beautiful, but I’d like to hear more about the gloves…

    Your mitts are lovely too. I’m so glad you and Wanda had a great swap!

  3. I am so glad that your swap went well for you and for Wanda, I love reading about happy endings!!!

  4. That was a great swap and I really enjoyed both ends of it 😉 Ruth, it was very gracious of you not to show the Ritz cracker box that I used for packing! I held my breath but you photographed everything beautifully!
    The gloves are a perfect fit, and all the other treasures are wonderful /tasty!
    Thanks for being such a great partner in my first swap!


Leave a Reply

Categories

