Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 16, 2010

Round Robin Challenge: Candlelight

I haven’t done a Round Robin Challenge in a few months, partially because they took a hiatus over the holidays. But as I happen to have a decent photo for this topic, here were go again!
*
*

*
*
This is the German Christmas Candle pyramid given to us by our German exchange student’s family back in 1994. Isn’t it beautiful? I borrowed the following description of a very similar item from this website.


A traditional Erzgebirge pyramid, beautifully handturned and painted with green and gold highlights. The 3 tiers depict the Nativity, a shepherd with sheep and three trumpeting Angels. The lower tier is fitted with three candle holders. Once the candles are lit the various tiers turn with the fan’s movement. It is a truly unique and striking example of Erzgebirge Christmas folk art, and a piece you will treasure for years to come!”

Responses

  1. Beautiful candlelight shot!

  2. My dutch grandparents used to have a similiar one when I was a kid. It had angels on it and when the top turned the angels would right tiny bells. I’ve never seen one anywhere else. Thanks for sharing this pic. 🙂

  3. Hi Ruth

    Oh my goodness, I haven’t seen one of those in years! My mother had one. It was so fascinating to watch it go around and around. Lovely.

    -Carly

  4. I have a German immigrant friend who has a tall one of those, very pretty.

  5. Beautiful. It looks like a painting.

  6. Wow. I love that. I’ve never heard of such a thing,l even though I’m half German. What a treasure!

  7. Great photo of one of my favorite Christmas decorations. I want one, but haven’t found the right one yet, and the local store that carried them is going out of business…

  8. That is beautiful!

  9. I love your candlelight choice–the Christmas candle pyramid is so pretty.

  10. How very lovely! I have never seen anything like this! I would love to have one, especially as my husband was of Swiss/German extraction. I’ll have to watch for one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

