Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 12, 2010

Guess Where We Went?


*
*
How’s that for a nice little hint?
The Hubby Dearest, the two boys who still live here, and I flew down to LA on Friday for a quick weekend visit with Jean, aka Grandma. We got such deals! Southwest had a three day sale back in October; $25 tickets one-way. We snapped those up. Then we found a $19/day car rental with a reputable company, and finally we used Hotwire to score some rooms at the Radisson for about what a Motel Six would have cost. Not bad, eh?

While we were in the area, we were able to visit some friends of ours, too. Awesome timing for a visit, as they had just welcomed young Yoseph into the family on Tuesday.
*
*

*
*
We strolled along The Promenade, sat outside at the park, watched the sun set on the ocean from Palasaide Park, and in general enjoyed the blue skies and warm temps. (70 ish) We played Rummikub with Jean, and had afternoon cream tea at The Tudor House. We slept in!!
Daniel had a great time dog-watching in Santa Monica. It seemed like all the dogs were taking their humans out for a stroll in the mild weather. I enjoyed the flora, as well as the fauna. There were an amazing number of Birds of Paradise lining the streets as we strolled along.
*
*

*
*
But, other than seeing Jean and our friends,(and being with my family) my favorite thing about the weekend was being outside and enjoying the sunsets!
*
*

*
*

Responses

  1. What beautiful photos! I hope it’s not too cold and gloomy at home this morning. I’m sure being back with Sasha and Misty would brighten any gloomy day!

  2. Wow! Those air deals were amazing! Way to go…
    Amazing sunset shot!! Sounds like a great weekend.

  3. Hi Ruth! I am your swap partner and I am really looking forward to this! Sounds like we both really, really like our tea 😉
    Lovely pics and, can I say I am jealous? We have lots of snow and -10C up here in the Great White North! (That is 14F–had to think about that one!)
    Looking forward to getting to know you.
    W.

  4. Great photos. What beautiful sunsets. I like the cost of that type of vacation. Glad you had a great time.

  5. Wow, nice pictures. Makes me homesick, especially since I was just there. I wish I could find deals like that. You must share your secrets!

    Cute baby!

  6. Oh, warmth. I could go for some of that right now.

  7. Ooooh, can I come help hold the baby?…


Leave a Reply

Categories

