Posted by: scrabblequeen | January 4, 2010

Year In Review (Part two)

Books

Thank God for Shelfari!  If it were not for this nifty website, I would be nearly clueless as to not only how many books I read this past year, but probably also which ones. Sigh. The list is still not inclusive, as I forget sometimes, to add a book to the list, or to date when it was read, or re-read…but

As near as I can tell, I read 35 books which got dates recorded on Shelfari this past year.

*I read the two newest books in the Sister Chicks series by Robin Jones Gunn, I love these!

*I found a new series of Coffee House Mysteries, by Cleo Coyle,  which were okay for a quick, mindless read, but not spectacular.

*I read a couple of books from the Seaside Knitters Mystery series, by Sally Goldenbaum, and several other knitting mysteries as well.

*I even found a bookstore mystery series! So far, I’ve read on the first one, Murder Is Binding, by Lorna Barrett.

*And, to round out the quickie, cozy mysteries for the year, I read Kilt Dead, by Kaitlynn Dunnett, Death At Dartmoor, by Robin Paige, and finally(!) from Diana Killian , High Rhymes and Misdomenors.

*I read, and blogged about, the City of Ember series. (4 books)

*I read what may have been my first book by Anna Quindlan, Blessings; read a non-Sherlock Holmes story by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, The White Company, and discovered Barbara Delinsky. (Coast Road and Family Tree)

*I picked up a classic I had not read in such a long time that it was like reading it for the first time; The Good Earth, by Pearl S. Buck.

*I read The Shack, Drowning Ruth, Keeping Faith, and Under The Tuscan Sun for some real variety…..

And many more, but still not the number I had been aiming for. My goal was to read 52 books in 52 weeks. I know I read some that did not get recorded, but I KNOW I was short of goal. Good thing I can try again this year, right?
*
*
<

Responses

  1. Cool! I have no idea how many books I read, aside from the entire “dog show” mystery series, minus the final book, which I’m bogged down in now.

  2. My favorites: Rachel Remen. Jerome Groopman. Oliver Sacks. Temple Grandin’s interesting, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

