Posted by: scrabblequeen | September 18, 2009

It’s That Time Again!

tlapdbanner2

Avast! Tomorrow be Talk Like A Pirate Day 2009!

And, Just fer fun, this year, go check out the Knit Like A Pirate blog, too.

Here are some basics to get you started, courtesy of the official ‘how to’ website

Ahoy! – “Hello!”

Avast! – Stop and give attention. It can be used in a sense of surprise, “Whoa! Get a load of that!” which today makes it more of a “Check it out” or “No way!” or “Get off!”

Aye! – “Why yes, I agree most heartily with everything you just said or did.”

Aye aye! – “I’ll get right on that sir, as soon as my break is over.”

Arrr! – This one is often confused with arrrgh, which is of course the sound you make when you sit on a belaying pin. “Arrr!” can mean, variously, “yes,” “I agree,” “I’m happy,” “I’m enjoying this beer,” “My team is going to win it all,” “I saw that television show, it sucked!” and “That was a clever remark you or I just made.” And those are just a few of the myriad possibilities of Arrr!

If ye want to move yerself up to the advanced Pirate Speak, follow the link smartly me beauties, and don’t stop for a grog on yer way!

Responses

  1. And I missed it. I guess this is where I confess that I just don’t get the whole pirate “thing.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

