Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 25, 2009

Done Before Durango!

Yeah! I did it. I finished both of the lacy scarves I was knitting for this year’s raffle or auction for the Soldier’s for Jesus at the big To-Do in Durango. I was getting a little worried about timing, because for various reasons I was not able to knit on the black scarf much during my recent travel.

I finished the “Marigold” scarf on July 24 and cast on the black one the very same day.
*
*
The "Marigold" Scarf
*
*
I made pretty good progress on it until I hit the road on the 4th of August. Then, it sat mostly dormant until my return 10 or so days later. As I was sick, and suffering from back problems (simultaneously, sigh) I didn’t really get busy on it again until later in the week. At that point, I worked on it almost non-stop until Saturday afternoon, when, joy of joys, it was done!

The scarf enjoyed a nice soak while we made a very brief visit to the county fair, which is held right here in my town, and was on the blocking pads before bed that night. For the record, I really, really need some blocking wires!
*
*

Blocked Falling Water

Blocked Falling Water


*
*
The finished scarf is about 75-76 inches long and about 6-6 1/2 inches wide. It rolled terribly before blocking, so I hope and pray that it stays mostly flat now.
*
*
falling water modeled
*
*
Project recap: Pattern Falling Water by Bonnie Sennot. Yarn-Tess TwinkleToes, a washable merino and silk ‘sock yarn’. Needle- size 4 KnitPicks Options

This could have been knit on a five, or even a six and worked, I think. As it happened, my smaller sized straight needles were all busy already, or I would have preferred to knit it on my Harmony straights. Ah well.
Verdict: I really like how it turned out, and will likely use the pattern again. Suitable for larger gauge yarn and needles as well, I might try it in Sport or Worsted for a quicker knit.

Currently On The Needles: Vi Shawl in Cascade 220 Superwash for a friend who just had surgery last Thursday. About two-thirds done, as it was my travel project.

Responses

  1. Beautiful!!

  2. OMG I love your skirt in the 2nd photo. I’m a sucker for plaid and gingham prints.

  3. Really nice! I like the falling water pattern as well. I think I’ve made three of them so far. They look really good despite being quite easy to knit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

