Posted by: scrabblequeen | July 28, 2009

Knitting, and FO Report

“What in the world has the Scrabblequeen been knitting lately? We never see any pictures or hear any reports, are you sure she still even knits?”

Yes, let me assure you, I still knit! I have yet another scarf on the needles, and two, count ’em two, finished objects to show you.

OTN, is another scarf for the Soldier’s for Jesus up-coming auction and raffle. This one is black, in the
Falling Water Lace pattern. I’m using Tess’ Designer Yarns Twinkle Toes, a merino and silk blend ‘sock’ yarn. Size 4 Knit Picks Options for this one, which is moving along nicely.
*
*
falling water scarf1
*
*
I finished the first scarf for Soldier’s on Friday and got it blocked today. It grew…a lot! Before blocking it was 60 inches long and about 8 inches wide. After, it is at least 72 inches long and about 12 inches wide! I don’t have any post-blocking pics…yet.
*
*
marigold 3
*
*
marigold 4
*
*
And finally, I can reveal my secret knitting from an earlier post. My swap partner received her box, so it’s time to pull aside the curtain and show my Lacy Tea Towel at last. I used Elann Adara, a light worsted weight cotton/linen blend, the Lagoon colorway, and size six and seven Knit Picks Harmony straights. I based the towel on this pattern by Cathy Waldie, and borrowed the idea for the ruffle at the bottom from the lovely Grace of LovingComfortKnits
*
*
tea towel 1
*
*
tea towel 3
*
*
Whew, I think that gets me mostly caught up!

Responses

  1. What a pretty towel!! Yes, yes, they’re all pretty, but having knitted with linen before and finding it tough on the hands, the towel really impresses me.

  2. Love the towel! And the scarves look great. 🙂

  3. Oooh those are really pretty. I like that Falling Water Lace…

  4. I used that lace pattern in my Water Turtles shawl, and there you have it, done as a scarf! Very pretty! It’s one of my favorite mindless-knitting-scarf projects. I love your peach colorway!

  5. (Going and looking it up) Barbara Walker published that as Arrowhead Lace in her first in her stitch treasury series, so the credit really needs to go to her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

