Posted by: scrabblequeen | July 24, 2009

Yes, It IS Growing!

Someone suggested that I could give weekly up-dates on the little garden I planted a couple of weeks ago. Not a bad idea, thought I; that way I could fill blog space at least once a week!

Meh, not so much. I ran out to the garden one week after planting with my camera in hand and….was quite disappointed with the amount of visible growth for the watermelon, zucchini, and cukes. The little herb garden in the half-barrel was looking good, though. It’s even better after two weeks. Let’s compare.
*
*

herbs herbs 7 15 hers 7 22
*
*
The basil are loving the hot weather, the cilantro, not quite as much. It does, however, smell heavenly when you get close to the barrel!

The three vines are showing better progress after two weeks in the ground. The watermelon and the zucchini look especially happy and healthy. The cucumbers have flowers on the vine, but look pretty scraggly over-all.
*
*

Watermelon, 7/22/09

Watermelon, 7/22/09


*
*
Zucchini 7/22/09

Zucchini 7/22/09


*
*
Cucumbers 7/22/09

Cucumbers 7/22/09


*
*
So that’s MY garden update. What’s growing around your place?

ps. For those looking for knitting or swap content, do not lose heart. This may be a multiple post day!

Responses

  1. Love your blog on the gardening…Really cute…Love it.

  2. I was so looking forward to my first tomato in a dozen years, getting more and more orange…

    …and then something swiped it! How dare they!

    And then a few others disappeared. HEY! This means WAR! I went to the hardware store and bought the smallest roll of birdnetting, this not being a tree, and wrapped it twice around the tomato cages. Didn’t have enough to cover the top.

    I later saw a squirrel standing and putting a paw to the netting, then another–nope, goes too high, can’t get above it. Huh.

    I’m hoping my tomatoes are safe now? Don’t know.

  3. Frustrations are mounting here, does that count as “growing”? However, I think now that the air has cleared, this painful car shopping process is almost over!


Leave a Reply

Categories

