Posted by: scrabblequeen | July 15, 2009

A Plum’s Life

A summer-time story.

Late Spring, 2009 (June 9)
*
*
plum abundance
*
*
Of course the plums ripened while I was away at camp! So I had to rely on the kindess of others to pick and distribute the first flush of fruit. (good alliteration, eh?) Long story shortened, I ended up with one bin of plums in the fridge for my own use.
*
*
plum stash
*
*
I finally got around to setting aside time for jam-making last week. Somehow I managed to not get a photo of the jam in the pot. Maybe it was the time limitations and the fact that I was working solo at a job best suited for two pairs of hands! I did, however, grab the camera while the jars were in the boiling water bath.
*
*
plum pan
*
*
The plums make such a pretty color when they are cooked, more red than purple. You can’t see it as well from the jar, so I took a shot of my ‘extra’ bit in it’s little glass dish.
*
*
jam color
*
*
And finally, the finished product. My yield was three pint jars and three 8 oz. jars. Only one problem….it’s not jam! Sigh. The silly stuff refuses to set up. What I have is six jars of lightly spiced plum syrup. Don’t worry, Lisa, I’ll still send you some jam, it just won’t be this year’s jam!
*
*
not jam<

Responses

  1. Back in the dark ages when I canned I would have that happen too, I used to love Plum Jam with Vanilla Pudding as Parfaits, gosh the kids liked that one too!

  2. Having some of the plum JAM in my possession, I’m sure this would be delightful over vanilla ice cream, over a plain cake, etc.

  3. Oh yummy! I love plums and plum jam. I’ve never canned a thing but my mother and older sisters do.
    If it stays syrupy you can add it to tea to sweeten the tea or pour it on pancakes or blintzes! :0)

  4. Looks oh so yummy! I just got a kit of canning supplies and I can’t wait to have a day to do some canning! Maybe even this weekend.

  5. it still looks delicious! I have some strawberry rhubarb “jam” that is more like paste consistency… i swear i could eat it with a spoon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

