Posted by: scrabblequeen | June 1, 2009

Knitting Book Review

Last week I checked out the New Books shelf at my local library. Life is good, so I went home with two new knitting books to search through, ooh and ahh over, and to share with my fellows knitters.

First, Inspired to Knit, by Michele Rose Orne.
*
*
inspired to knit
*
*
The subtitle is: Creating Exquisite Handknits. Maybe it’s just me. I wasn’t inspired by this book at all, and I failed to buy into the idea of the patterns it contained as being “exquisite”. This is one reason to love the library. One can find this sort of thing out without having to make a purchase to do so. If you’d like to see a few of the knits included, and make your own decision as to whether or not they are ‘exquisite”, just follow this link to see eleven of the designs pictured.
*
*
The second book I checked out was Cables Untangled, by Melissa Leapman.
*
*
Cables Untangled
*
*
I loved it! The projects shown were inspiring, at least to me, and the second half of the book was a wonderful stitch dictionary of cables. These were further sub-divided into three categories, and that was enough to tip the scales in favor of adding this volume to my wish list of knitting books.

It is true that I don’t use the books I own often enough, but that may be because I:
A). bought them before I knew what I liked/disliked in a knitting book
B). have no brain
C). Didn’t buy it for myself

For the record, A and B are the most likely reasons for failing to utilize my knit library better. Maybe I should work on that?

Responses

  1. I felt the same as you about BOTH of these books. And in fact, purchased the second one. Like you, I really don’t utilize my knitting books as much as i thought I would, but they are great inspiration at times and make excellent reading. I have gotten much much more selective in my knitting books though!..

  2. I own the second one, and have done a swatch or two from it. I’d like to do more, but you’re familiar with my knitter’s ADD.

  3. Thanks for the review! I’ve been eyeing cables untangled for a long time, but was too afraid that the outside would look better than the inside, which is all too often the case. That’s why I’ve got too many unused knitting books in my library.

  4. I’m another fan of the library for ‘try before I buy’ items! I’ve looked over the first book myself, and decided that there wasn’t anything in there that suited my style. (My ‘style’ can generally be characterized as casual- also as, ‘grubby and covered in cat hair’. ) Cables I can get into- I’ll have to check that one out!

  5. I’m with you. I liked a couple of the designs a little but there were none that spoke to me.

    I’ve been trying the library first lately before plunking down money for a book I may not really want.

  6. The cables book has been on my list for awhile!! Such pretty designs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

