Posted by: scrabblequeen | April 21, 2009

Progress!

Yesterday was a challenge. In addition to being a Monday, which is always a full day, we had lots of big and little things to deal with. First thing in the morning, the floor guys came over to pull up and read the calcium chloride test we’d had running since Friday. Verdict: slab was dry enough to allow the rubberized sealant to be applied. Hallelujah!

Upon getting this good news, I packed up a days worth of math books, calculators, pencils, papers, and etc and headed off to my alternate teaching location at the church. While I was away, this is what “happened” to my floors.
*
*
red-floor
*
*
That color you see is BRIGHT pink! And it smelled to high heaven. I’m still not back to normal after the mold flung into the air last week brought my astma out of hibernation, so the very strong petroleum odor of the sealant about did me in. It was soo bad that I chose to teach my final student of the day out on the back patio (why not? Kitchen table was there) where the thermometer was advertising 99 degrees Fahrenheight. Ugh!
*
*
We escaped for the evening over to Belinda’s house for a quickly arranged b-b-q of hamburger and corn. We didn’t escape the heat, we did get away from the smell for a while.

This morning, the nice men came to put the floor down! Wahoo…. It was a two part project. They “mapped” the floor out with paper, pulled it up, and went to the warehouse to cut the vinyl to match. Pretty cool deal. I dragged all my books, paper, pencils, rulers, and compasses out to the church for Geometry, and when I got back, I found this!
*
*
new-floor-dinette
*
*
Well, close enough. We had to bring the table in later, but look, floor! Mostly. If you look to the left you’ll still see pink floor. That part will get carpet tomorrow.
*
*
new-floor-and-appliances
*
*
Check it out: Fridge in kitchen…..
*
*
laundry
*
*
And washer, dryer, and freezer in the “back” area off the kitchen. Yes, you do see today’s 95 ish degree sunshine streaming in through the dog door.

Speaking of dogs, they are sooo ready for all of this to be over!

Responses

  1. Oh yippee! It really looks nice where it isn’t pink anymore!! The end is in sight!!

  2. I’m just home from seeing the floor in person – gorgeous! Can’t wait to see the completed work! 🙂 You (and Belinda) have really done a great job!!

  3. Beautiful flooring! I’m sorry about your asthma flare-up; funky, chemical fumes get me every time too.

  4. The floor so far looks lovely. I’m glad this upheaval is almost over for you.

  5. It’s gorgeous! Can’t wait to see the rest. I hope the plumbing issue is okay. Hope the asthma clears too. You have a lot of chemicals fresh in the house right now so take care of yourself!


Leave a Reply

Categories

