Posted by: scrabblequeen | March 3, 2009

More About Stitches

Okay, so where was I?

I think I had gotten as far as the Blue Moon Fiber Arts booth on Friday… Right…so, we wandered around a bit collecting buttons and checking out yarn and books and other goodies until they closed the place down at six o’clock. We didn’t exactly rush towards the door, they were turning lights off by the time decided that yes, maybe we should move on to our next destination. Margaret, who spends way more time on Ravelry, and learns all manner of amazing and interesting things, knew that there was a Rav meet-up in the Magnolia Ballroom at the hotel connected to the Convention Center. So, naturally, we found our way there.

After locating the Magnolia room, we were greeted by the sight of a small group of ladies and several bottles of wine! Again, because Margaret is so much more of a Ravelor than I am, she immediately recognized several of those present, with whom she regularly chats in the forums. We had a nice visit, showed off a purchase or two, gave and received some advice, sipped some wine (Margaret only, I’m afraid, as I was the driver) and then said our good-bys, as we had another appointment to keep.

We had a lovely time that evening, which I will consider telling you about another time, but not now, as it is not directly Stitches related.

Saturday morning we arrived just in time to get into a tremendously long line of people waiting for the MarketPlace doors to open. We went straight over to the booth where the Stitches postcards were being made and sent out.
*
*
11061
stitcheslive.com
*
*
Many thanks to Amy and Monica for helping a tech-challenged lady with this photo.

I met one of my favorite bloggers in the line for classes, and later, when she came back to the Marketplace we met up again. Heather, aka the YarnYenta . We hung together for a little while, showing each other the cool things we had discovered the day before.
*
*
yenta-n-me
*
*
One of the things I knew the Yenta would like to see was the booth with the hair clips which made great shawl pins. I had purchased four on Friday, and saw no reason I should be the only one spending money there! The Lilla Rose folks have awesome pieces in a variety of colors of metal, with colored stones and many center motifs, all in their flexible figure eight design.
*
*
lila-rose-clips
*
*
The “clips” come in sizes ex. small through ex. large, and prices start at only $10!! I know I sound like an advertisement, but when I consider that the other pins I saw, which were beautiful, to be sure, all cost upwards of $30 each, which is mostly out of my price range for shawl pins. And yes, Heather DID buy some as well. I am a very good enabler!

In case Hubby Dearest, or anyone for that matter, wishes to give me a gift, this one looked really good to me.
*
*
my-wish
*
*
Or, I’d be happy with this one, also. 🙂
*
*
or-this-one
*
*
Once again, it is late here, so I’ll post about most of my shopping success and the fashion show yet another time.

Responses

  1. Very pretty! Looks like you had a great time and found all kinds of neat people and goodies.

  2. the real question – did she ever come home!

  3. Awesome so far! I love these multiple posts — so much to hear about & so much to see!

    (psst — send me the bitmap img of your postcard and I’ll convert it to a jpeg for you!)

  4. I am green with envy and I just had a wonderful pot of your signature tea blend, absolutely delicious!

  5. Love the stitches live photo!! Sooo fun!

  6. Sounds like you had a great time!

    PS. I like your new springtime header!


Leave a Reply

Categories

