Posted by: scrabblequeen | February 17, 2009

Travel Log, stardate 2/17/09

We safely flew to Seattle on Saturday, where we wandered down to Pike’s Place in search of dinner. Imagine trying to find a place to eat out on both a Saturday night AND February 14th, when you have no reservation! Rest assured, we did find food, although it wasn’t easy.

Sunday morning, before any sane person would be up, we caught the Amtrak for Vancouver, BC. Nice ride, with the ocean often only a few feet away from the tracks.
*
*
train-5
*
*
We had a great view of the sun over the mountains in the distance.
*
*
train-3
*
*
We didn’t do too much after our arrival in Vancoouver. We took a walk, took a nap, had dinner, and crashed!

Monday saw the intrepid travelers seet out on foot with a plan to see the Vancouver Library…
*
*
library-1
*
*
Then head down to Gastown to see the Steam Clock
*
*
gastown-clock-3
*
*
After a nice Ploughman’s lunch at the Black Frog, we wandered around a bit before ending up at Murchies. I got some tea for me, some tea for gifts, and we each had a nice, hot cuppa…coffee for Him
*
*
murchies-jim
*
*
and tea for her…
*
*
murchies-me-2
*
*
We wandered a bit more, but it was getting cold! The day was ended quietly, with a small supper in our room and a bit of knitting, reading, and very little television watching.

Responses

  1. Love the views! Hope you’re having a great time. (And I’m delighted that you figured out how to do photos on the mini.)

  2. Ahh the Olympics look so majestic. Beautiful clear shot. My girlfriend Jody lives right up from those railroad tracks in Edmonds. Your Vancouver shots are great. Love the ones of you and hubby at Murchies. Maybe this summer when I have a nice extended stay at home in Washington I should zoom up across the border and visit Murchies. I don’t think I’ve ever been to Murchies…
    Lots of times when Dear and I travel out of town we’ll buy picnic style food at a good deli or grocery store and just eat in our hotel room. Good times…
    Enjoy the rest of your trip…

  3. Silly weather report! It’s supposed to be gorgeous today — pack your hat! We’re going for a tour!

  4. It was very nice to meet you yesterday. In case you were wondering…I looked up were I was in CA. We volunteered at the Stockton Gospel Mission and stayed at the Christian High School in Ripon. I might have flown into Scramento and somehow got that stuck in my head… It was quite a few years ago! Hope you enjoy your outing today. 🙂

  5. Very cool. I’m wondering if the Hmong craftsmen I saw at Pike’s Place ten years ago are still there. I bought the most incredibly embroidered sweatshirt for one of my kids… Who left it at school one day and it was gone forever. I’ve been picturing myself going somehow back at Pike’s to replace it ever since.

  6. Murchies, lucky lady, I wish I lived on the west coast so I could see these things!!

  7. What a gorgeous view from the train! So pretty!! Looks like you two are in for some fun!

  8. 1st, I like the title of your post. 😉 2nd, it looks like you’re having a great time!

  9. Gorgeous photos! Have a great trip!

  10. What a fantastic trip with the photos to prove it!

    I like your idea to change your header each month.


Leave a Reply

Categories

