Posted by: scrabblequeen | February 11, 2009

Over And Over Again

little women
*

I’m a reader. I know lots of you out there are readers too. So the question of the day is, “what book or series of books do you find yourself reading over and over again”?

I have a number of books that fit this category in my life.

1. The Hobbit and the Lord of The Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkein

2. The Pern books, by Anne McCaffrey

3. Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott

4. A Little Princess and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

5. The Prydain Series by Lloyd Alexander

I’m pretty sure they may be others, but those were the ones that came quickly to mind. So fess up, what do you read and re-read? I really DO want to know!

Responses

  1. Outlander series by Diana somebody
    Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind
    Most Nora Roberts series
    If I had Little Women, I would probably read it again. Or the Little House on the Prairie.

    There are probably others I am forgetting…

  2. That is the exact version of the book that I read as a girl! Still love it!! I also love Anne of Green Gables!

  3. This is a little eerie… I was thinking about this very subject this morning!

    LotR, Narnia Chronicles, To Kill a Mockingbird, … I’m sure there’s more, but those spring to mind!

  4. Interesting question!

    1. The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis

    2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

    3. Persuasion by Jane Austen

    4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

    5. Anne’s House of Dreams by Lucy Maud Montgomery

    6. Chronicles of Avonlea by Lucy Maud Montgomery

    7. Further Chronicles of Avonlea by Lucy Maud Montgomery

    8. A Gown of Spanish Lace by Janette Oke

    9. The Love Comes Softly Series by Janette Oke

    10. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

    11. Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan

    That’s what quickly came to my mind. I think I’m going to ask this on my blog also.

  5. 1. The Bible
    2. Lord of the Rings
    3. Chronicles of Narnia
    4. Books by Stephen Lawhead
    5. George MacDonald Fiction
    6. Harry Potter Series

  6. Oh, heavens. How do you choose?

    I reread Terry Pratchett pretty frequently. I periodically reread a bunch of mysteries- Dick Francis, Aaron Elkins come to mind.

    I guess there are fewer books that I reread frequently and more that I reread periodically, if that makes sense. I have a bunch that I’ve been thinking of and need to read again- Cryptonomicon probably heads that list right now.

    I keep a list of what I read, and review the new books on my website and my (and my husband’s) library is catalogued on LibraryThing if you’re ever feeling curious. 🙂

  7. Give me any series and I’d probably read it at least twice. I almost know the Harry Potter books by heart. I love Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre, of course, and LotR.


Leave a Reply

Categories

