Posted by: scrabblequeen | December 13, 2008

Just In Time (I Hope)

Yeah! I have two finished objects to report. I haven’t had much knitting time this week, so even though both were either quick knits or nearly done, I still get the big “sigh of relief” that they are done.

First, I finished the Thorpe hat… And found a model

thorpe-1

thorpe-2

Specks: Thorpe by Kirsten Kapur Lyon Brand Wool-Ease Chunky in Bluebell Size 9 Addi Lace needles
except for the contrasting trim and braids, which were Wool-Ease worsted in Cocoa, double stranded for crocheted edge, doubled twice for braids!

This is a quick, easy knit, and kind of fun, too. I will definately knit another one. 🙂

And…drum roll please…I finished the Ingrid’s Birthday Scarf! What can I say? I love the pattern, love the yarn, love the finished product. I even learned a brand new bind-off to finish this off nicely! I feel so proud. (hurt’s self with back-patting)
I found the video on the Russian Bind-Off to be most helpful.

cloudy-sky-done

The “Tidy Edge”

finished-edge-1

Close-up view ( I love this, thanks Margaret for telling me about it)

finished-edge-2

So, just in time for what, you ask? Well, I hear Monday is the deadline for mailing packages with guaranteed Christmas delivery…so I should make it!

Responses

  1. The hat is GREAT!!

    And, the scarf is so pretty! And, that edge is so perfect that it really makes me want to do a scarf just to try it!

    Good job!!

  2. Wow! That scarf is absolutely gorgeous! Great job!!

    And I love the Thorpe hat! Awesome!

  3. Absolultly love the scarf!!!

  4. Both are nice, but you MUST share how to do that smart edge!

  5. Congratulations on meeting your deadline :0)
    We tried to get to the Samovar twice, once it was closed and the second time it just didn’t work :0(
    So sad but true I didn’t have tea in San Francisco.
    A very Merry Christmas to you and yours.
    Love the tidy edge on the scarf!

  6. Marvelous! That’s a gorgeous scarf! And the hat looks toasty.

    Monday, you say? Eep! Must go wrap!


Leave a Reply

Categories