Posted by: scrabblequeen | November 7, 2008

Would You Like Dessert With That?

Lisa over at Stop and Smell The Chocolate, has a linky thing for dessert recipes today. Usually it’s only for chocolate recipes. Only as in exculsively, that is. Today I’m playing along.

California Wine Cake

I learned this recipe from my best friend way back in Jr. High. It’s still a favorite of mine. Easy, too, and makes the house smell like heaven while it’s in the oven.

1 package Yellow cake mix (they recomend the pudding in the mix kind)
1 4 oz. box Instant vanilla pudding mix
4 eggs
3/4 cup oil
3/4 cup sherry (not the cheap, cooking kind)
1 tsp. ground nutmeg

Mix all ingedients together well (approx. 5 mins)
Bake in either two greased and floured loaf pans or a bundt pan, for 50 minutes at 350 degrees

Cool in pan 5 minutes, then carefully turn out onto plate.
When cool, dust with powdered sugar.
Some use a powdered sugar glaze, but I never do. It’s quite rich and doesn’t need more sweetness to enhance it.

Responses

  1. I think I’ve had a piece of this cake before and it was DELICIOUS!! Now I can make my own!! 🙂

  2. Thank you for linking this up! Yum! It sounds similar to the amaretto cake, but even easier! I’ll be trying it for sure.


Leave a Reply

Categories

