Posted by: scrabblequeen | October 27, 2008

Not Much To Say

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I’ve got nothing interesting to say right now. I’m slowly working on my Touch of Whimsy scarf, nearly done with the skein in fact, but have no pictures as of yet to share. I’ve also started (twice now) a Christmas stocking out of Cascade 220. I don’t own the pattern book, and have had trouble making up my mind as to colors, morifs, etc, and so slow going on this front, too. At this point I have a red, ribbed cuff, and a green tree motif on an off-white background. Again, no pics yet. Maybe tomorrow if life is good.

I went to visit my friend, or more truthfully her pups, yesterday. Abby, who is now a year old, is huge! She is so long, so tall, and so black and shiny. She is also a very nice dog. Usually I am not a fan of big dogs, but this one doesn’t scare me at all, in spite of being well over one hundred pounds.

Abby’s baby sister Ella is now four months old, and such a sweetie! She has the most precious face and truly gorgeous fur. I can’t quite describe her coloring. It’s bown and black and somehow mixed together….and of course I forgot to bring my camera. Duh. This “little” girl is already over 40 pounds….a really special mix of Great Dane and Saint Bernard… Can’t imagine having that much dog around. By the time they’re full grown, those two pups will weigh over 200 pounds. My pair tip the scales at a total weight of about 26 pounds. How’s that for a bit of contrast?

Responses

  1. I too am wary of big dogs, but we had an Akita for a while and she was a good size, can’t wait to see your knitting!!

  2. WOW. Is Ella a brindle? That’s a neat, not-quite tiger-stripped coloration of black and brown… ?? It’s one of my favorites. I almost had the Knight talked into a boston terrier just because it was brindle…

  3. Good to hear from you. I was just beginning to think I needed to send out the troops to make sure you were okay! :o)

  4. Wow.

    My brother once sent me a picture of him and his mastiff, and I’d call it a massive, myself–it’s about as tall as he is, standing up, and definitely a good deal heavier. How on earth do you walk a dog like that?


Leave a Reply

Categories

