Posted by: scrabblequeen | September 24, 2008

Trains, Planes, and Automobiles

So, on Thursday we flew to Philadelphia, PA to join our friends as they prepared for their daughter’s wedding. On Saturday we drove to Hershey, PA for the wedding. That was it’s own adventure, which I don’t have time to recount here yet, maybe later. Sunday, we drove back to our friend’s home, and from there down to Deleware to catch the train to Viginia.

Why Viginia? Why to meet up with one of my favorite bloggers, of course!

Yes, it was Channon! See what a good sport she was, to pose with Hubby Dearest on the steps of the Michie Tavern?

Monday morning Hubby and I went up to Monticello for a tour, our tickets arranged by none other than Chan herself. We’re both history buffs, so Hubby and I really enjoyed our tour.

We saw the ground floor of the house (rules won’t allow for going upstairs)

Then we toured the grounds a bit. I found some interesting flowers growing along the path.
This one looks kind of like a pink velvet brain to me.

Some “Love Lies Bleeding”

There were some beautiful Delphinium. I think this is almost iridescent.

And, there were lots of little apples in the trees.

After our tour we hiked down the trail to the Michie Tavern to meet Channon for lunch. It was great. We met (IRL) for the first time just then, but it felt like I’d know her much longer…which is true if you count a year’s worth of blog comments and emails…and I do!

We had a nice, traditional meal in “The Ordinary”

Then, Chan surprised me by saying we had to go into the little gift shop because she wanted me to choose a teacup there. What a lovely gift and quite a nice reminder of our visit together. I haven’t had time to photograph it yet, but promise to do so soon. By Friday, for sure.

There’s more to tell, and knitting to catch up on too, but I’m out of time, so it will have to wait.

P.S. The “find the Bee” entries will close at noon Pacific Time on Thursday, September 25.

Responses

  1. Oh, very cool! Cock’s comb I think is the name of the pink brain. Celosia (just checked, yup, that’s it.) Any chance I get to meet you, too, at Stitches?

  2. I’m so glad you had a great time. I know I talked your ears off, but it was so easy to talk with you!

  3. What fun to meet up with a bloggy friend. I love the name of that place “The Ordinary” Looking forward to seeing the teacup…

  4. Looks like a fun adventure. I think Alison is right, Cock’s Comb. I see that a lot over by Mendocino and on the coast. Can’t wait to see your teacup. Did you knit the purple sweater you’re knitting? I like it!

  5. What a lovely trip. The wedding sounds like it was an excuse to start out in order to have the rest of the adventure.

    Did I miss it, or was this a trip actually without yarn shopping?


Leave a Reply

Categories

