Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 24, 2008

Happy Birthday Jean

Today is Jean’s 86th birthday. To help her celebrate, I have come down to Santa Monica for the weekend. We took a stroll together along the park which overlooks Santa Monica beach, just like we did last July when I came down to visit. Well, it looks the same, anyway.

But really, sadly, things are quite different. Last year Jean was happily living in an apartment five blocks inland from the coast and was able to walk and do most things for herself. She was only riding the scooter that day because it was too great a distance for her to walk.

Now Jean is living in a convalescent hospital three blocks from the beach. She cannot walk at all and is confined to a power chair. Don’t get me wrong, it gives her great freedom to have the power chair, but it’s not the same as being able to walk. To choose where she will live, what she will eat, and all the little things we take for granted, that is what she truly wants.

Jean came into my life when I was 18. That was the year my father left my step mother and moved in with Jean. I didn’t know what to think, what to do, how to behave around this person. I found her fascinating from the get-go. We have much in common, Jean and I. We’ve had our troubles over the last nearly 30 years, but who hasn’t?

You’ve been a good friend, a great grandmother to the boys, and we all love you.

Happy Birthday Jean! ( Oh, and I hope the seed you got from the Dragon Tree grows, too.)

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday, Jean! (love that tree… will she be growing it in a pot?)

  2. Happy birthday, Jean! And you know, that first Dragon Tree picture might make a great pattern design for her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

