Posted by: scrabblequeen | August 11, 2008

Out Of Hibernation At Last!

I’ve been waiting for this moment for a couple of months and it’s finally here. The Scotch Thistle Lace scarf has finally seen the light of day. Since I have almost finished the bag I needed to knit for a friend’s fund-raising auction, I had a good excuse to just do what I wanted to do today. And….drum roll please…..I completed the first half of the scarf!

This scarf/stole is knit in two pieces, then grafted in the middle. However, I have a question. The completed half doesn’t look very long. The total length is supposed to be 60 inches according to the pattern. I am using the recommended guage of yarn and the size 6 needles the pattern calls for. Can I/ should I block this half before starting the second half? I’d rather not cut the yarn until I know if it’s as long as it needs to be. I’ve worked too long and hard at this for it to come out short.

Please, please send me advice in the comments! I really need your help with this.

This is what it looked like last time I took it’s picture. Look much the same now, only longer.

While we’re here, want to see the Soldier’s Sophie bag?

It’s all done except for attatching the cable trim to the flap and possibly putting some kind of closure into place. The cable is knit, I just need to get brave enough to sew it on.

Responses

  1. I’d block it. I’ve often been surprised at how much of a difference it makes. I had a skirt once that I thought was going to be too short, but it blocked way too long! I had to rip back about 3 days of work.

    The other option is to block the swatch (you made one of those, right 🙂 ?) and note the size difference.

  2. If you have any doubts, block. You’ll be surprised at how the lace will grow, but without being able to hold your current “half” and tug and “hand block” there’s no way I’d try to guess…

  3. That bag is great and the colors in the scarf are yummy…

  4. Sorry – no advice RE blocking. But I wonder if sharing info on the yarn you knit it with would help someone help you?

    Love the bag!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

